Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-01-2019, 09:12   #1

Boat: 1976 Tradewind 34
Current and discontinued below deck autopilots

Hi all,

I am in the process of converting a wheel steered (chain and cable) beneteau first 305 to tiller steering. I have been using raymarine st4000 for many years and have worked out most of the bugs and find the reliability satisfactory (I have three backups of the same system).

For the tiller steering, I need to get the autopilot below decks as I want to be able to clear the cockpit area when I engage autopilot and allow for two adults to lounge around. I see that there are some very simple tillerpilots out there but I cannot dedicate a side of the cockpit to mount the tiller pilot. I know this requirement raises the cost tremendously and narrows down my options.

Out of the currently available models, I have identified two options: Raymarine EVO-200 with the linear drive and B&G triton 2 with the hydraulic ram. I would love to hear from you about your experience with these (or similar) units, any other new or discontinued models to consider, and using a below deck autopilot with a tiller.

Thank you!
hd002e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2019, 11:39   #2

Boat: Catalina 36
Re: Current and discontinued below deck autopilots

I’m very happy with myEVO200 with linear drive on my Catalina 36
Cat36Mahalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2019, 11:47   #3

The old Alpha 3000 are bulletproof if you can find one. Aircraft linear drive. But they dont interface with all the GPS, plotters etc if you want that.

Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote