Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2021, 00:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2
Connecting multiple devices with nmea0183?

Is it ok to connect multiple devices with nmea0183 in this daisy wheel formation?Click image for larger version

Name:	1615103382348.jpeg
Views:	43
Size:	23.1 KB
ID:	234026
SY Cushla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 01:42   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 8,684
Re: Connecting multiple devices with nmea0183?

A single 0183 run is a single talker, multiple listeners.
__________________
Paul
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 02:38   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,511
Re: Connecting multiple devices with nmea0183?

it depends if the device is able to resend it's input data. but it is not normally done that way.

what exactly are the 3 devices?...
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2021, 18:42   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SF Bay Area (Boat Sold)
Boat: Former owner of a Valiant V40
Posts: 855
Re: Connecting multiple devices with nmea0183?

You might get away with this, depending on the requirements/limitations of the individual devices, but a NMEA Multiplexer is a much better way to go, and gives you future expansion capability.
jamhass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2021, 23:13   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 93
Re: Connecting multiple devices with nmea0183?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
it depends if the device is able to resend it's input data. but it is not normally done that way.

what exactly are the 3 devices?...
Helm plotter, nav station plotter, vhf.
andypag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2021, 00:30   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,511
Re: Connecting multiple devices with nmea0183?

Are the plotters different Brands? Normally they would be connected by network not nmea 183. Even the older ones did.
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Raymarine Smartpilot S3 with Zeus 9 Nav Via NMEA0183 Mitchell87 Marine Electronics 1 07-01-2018 21:23
Multiple propane devices, multiple solenoids? jpendoley Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 18 03-04-2017 20:18
Tracking and plotting multiple GPS devices BrianCarrollr OpenCPN 35 01-12-2016 14:32
GPS For Multiple Devices Via Bluetooth Jd1 Marine Electronics 19 19-09-2016 06:24
Connecting VHF, AIS, GPS - NMEA0183 and NMEA2000 TheNomadTrip Marine Electronics 37 17-12-2015 19:03

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.