Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2020, 04:03   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 20
Connecting analog transducer and NMEA 0183 device to Garmin EchoMap

Hello,
I have a Garmin Echomap 62cv on my boat and so far I only connected an analog Airmar transducer via one special Garmin cable and send nmea info out from the two extra wires in the Garmin power cable.
Now I need to connect an eternal AIS module via nmea but i cannot find the information on how to do that. Does Garmin require a special cable here?
On the same note:
There are three ports on the back of the device but the manual does not say what the middle one is used for, let alone what the pinout would be.

Can anyone help here?

thanks!
SailorMcCruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2020, 05:51   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Florida Keys
Boat: Hunter Passage 42
Posts: 60
Re: Connecting analog transducer and NMEA 0183 device to Garmin EchoMap

The pinouts should be in the install manual for the chart plotter, I don't have your model but have the 741xs. Mine has an input and an output that can be set separately. I had to purchase a multiplexer to get all of my devices to work with each other. I also have devices that are Sea Talk so I needed to bring this data in as well. I've posted the link below. This is probably what you will need to get things talking.

Good luck!

https://www.yachtd.com/products/multiplexer.html
sguerrero1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2020, 07:11   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 20
Re: Connecting analog transducer and NMEA 0183 device to Garmin EchoMap

I figured it out.
In my case, since i do only have one sending and one receiving device it was quite straightforward.
The brown cable -input -connected to the AIS, blue cable - output - to the OpenPlotter system.
All dandy.
SailorMcCruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, nmea, nmea 0183, transducer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183 Davidhoy Marine Electronics 26 13-12-2019 19:39
Adding a NMEA 2000 Chart Plotter to a NMEA 0183 Network SailingPNW Marine Electronics 25 21-02-2019 10:57
Garmin echomap 70DV Problem Barcoeste Marine Electronics 0 17-02-2019 13:09
For Sale: Comar NMEA-2-WIFI NMEA 0183 Converter $230 4arch Classifieds Archive 1 02-11-2015 04:02
Any Garmin Echomap 50s Users? Bestathook Navigation 0 28-10-2013 08:20

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.