Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2014, 05:10   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Class B AIS

I'll need one soon anyway but the thread about do you keep watch got me thinking again. I do want to xmit, not just receive.
I have no experience with AIS, I understand I believe it's capabilities and limitations, just no experience.
I think I want a stand alone unit that can integrate with a chart plotter etc., Bluetooth I think may be good as I'm beginning to use this Ipad more and more and think devices like it will become more common, not less.
I think I don't want one that can only display on a plotter, I'm the guy that likes to integrate things, but don't like single points of failure, I like stuff that can operate and display on their own.

Are my wants logical? If so what the best stand alone unit? I assume it need it's own VHF antenna, and it should be mounted on the mast head or can you use a splitter?

Any specific recommendations?
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 05:42   #2

Boat: Outbound 44
Re: Class B AIS

Check the Vesper units. Decent price and lots of options. The Emtrex units are low cost and work well. You don't need a masthead antenna. Getting hits 40 miles away isn't required or helpful. ClassB xmit is designed for 5 mile range. An antenna at pushpit level works fine.
Old 10-10-2014, 05:46   #3

XB-8000 AIS transponder with built-in WiFi and NMEA 2000 Gateway

Buy that one!

Seriously.

and get the VHF splitter (although it seems to reduce my VHF power? not sure about that one yet ... still working on it).

Works like a charm, sends AIS out, distributes AIS, GPS, NMEA throughout the boat over wifi or USB.
jannw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 06:03   #4

Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"