Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-05-2020, 14:37   #1
Registered User
 
raingolfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Pacific Mexico
Boat: 1997 Bavaria 46E
Posts: 50
B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

I'm installing our new Halo20+, and running the cable. The installation manual for the Zeus3 MFD refers to connecting various network devices using an "Ethernet expansion device." Can my existing router serve that purpose? For example can I plug the RJ45 cable coming from the dome into the router, and then run another cable from the router to the Zeus3 display at the helm?

I don't have other devices on the ethernet network now (all the other nav equipment is running on the NMEA 2000 network), so if I can't use the router "in the middle" I'll need to plan to extend the cable to the helm.
__________________
Doug and Mary
S/Y Cassiopeia
Bavaria 46E (1997)
raingolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2022, 20:14   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

Raingolfer,

I am considering a similar setup. Did you try this? Does it work?

Thanks in advance!
serendipitous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2022, 22:15   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4,063
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

If you have a radar and mfd you don’t need a hub. Just join them together…
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2022, 23:48   #4
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 1,062
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

Except I have a Zeus2 MFD with only one ethernet port so I need a network expander
(NEP) to do this. Or, disconnect the WiFi go free.
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2022, 03:16   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kiel, Germany
Boat: Custom 48ft Catamaran, Farrier F32 RX
Posts: 143
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

I have the cables from both my Halo radar and the Zeus3 plugged into a router. This also gives internet connectivity to the Zeus (if activated).

Paul
toolbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2022, 03:39   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2022
Location: Ontario Canada
Boat: Jeanneau SO 389
Posts: 1,441
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

Yes just plug it in. Ca7 wire you can buy the ends separately. My Speakers are Cad7. I can access radar for raspberry pi as it’s plugged into the same hub.
Rumrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2022, 09:24   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4,063
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

Quote:
Originally Posted by lateral View Post
Except I have a Zeus2 MFD with only one ethernet port so I need a network expander
(NEP) to do this. Or, disconnect the WiFi go free.
Doesnít the go free have 2 ports? Just plug the radar and plotter into the go free.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2022, 10:37   #8
Registered User
 
raingolfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Pacific Mexico
Boat: 1997 Bavaria 46E
Posts: 50
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

Quote:
Originally Posted by serendipitous View Post
Raingolfer,

I am considering a similar setup. Did you try this? Does it work?

Thanks in advance!
I ended up running the radar CAT5 cable all the way to the Zeus MFD. But per the post by "toolbar" it does appear to work.
__________________
Doug and Mary
S/Y Cassiopeia
Bavaria 46E (1997)
raingolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2022, 13:42   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: PNW
Boat: Grand Soleil 42LC
Posts: 26
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

I also have a Halo 20+ wired into a consumer grade standard home router going to my dual Zeus 3S's with standard Cat 5 cabling. Works great! I disabled the built-in Zeus wifi to save a modest amount of power, but every bit helps.
silvercreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2022, 01:50   #10
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 1,062
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Doesn’t the go free have 2 ports? Just plug the radar and plotter into the go free.
Additionally, do not use the GoFree WiFi-1 as a switch. The WiFi-1 is designed to ‘boot’ after other units connected to the system and as such may cause messages like “No Radar” to be shown on your MFD at start-up.

Saw above so didn’t bother to try!
Also: reef magnets 1000mb/s requirement.
Halo 20+ is languishing in the wardrobe!
More pressing installs. ��*��
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...ee-228674.html
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2022, 03:05   #11
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 1,062
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

From “Abhor”
Navico now recommend to only use one of the WiFi-1 Ethernet ports, using both might cause network instabilities.
https://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-...free-wifi.html
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2022, 23:21   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: Brighton & South Spain
Posts: 3
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

All Simrad/B&G/Lowrance ethernet is standard Ethernet with a different connector.

You can run most routers and switches using a "converter cable" or put a RJ45 on one of the Navico cables.

Some time ago it could be an issue if the Simrad/B&G main device (plotter) did not issue the IP addresses but I think that has been fixed later so you can run your own main router without issues.

The one thing that can be an issue with 3rd party ethernet switches and routers is many are very "open" to ingest noise from VHF transmitters. So you could see network dropouts when transmitting on VHF or AIS doing AIS transmitting. Most people might not notice but TX/RX Ethernet errors would climb in the B&G status page. The B&G external WiFi IF have VHF noise filter built in. TX/RX errors can impact radar images or sonar images.

As NMEA OneNet is FINALLY on its way after 8-10 years of NMEA procrastinating - Ethernet Boating will become more "normal" and devices with good noise suppression and POE (Power Over Ethernet) will become readily available.
kaz911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 04:51   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 483
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

We tried plugging or NEP into our consumer grade router instead of the Go Free and it worked just fine for the B&G system.

The issue was that when the radar was transmitting it would flood the router with (I think) UDP packets and other devices (Vesper Cortex) would drop off the network.
crayiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 06:04   #14
Registered User
 
SoonerSailor's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camden, ME
Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Posts: 828
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

Quote:
Originally Posted by crayiii View Post
We tried plugging or NEP into our consumer grade router instead of the Go Free and it worked just fine for the B&G system.

The issue was that when the radar was transmitting it would flood the router with (I think) UDP packets and other devices (Vesper Cortex) would drop off the network.


Interesting. The Navico radar does transmit UDP over Ethernet, and my Vesper XB8000 will also drop off the network. Iíve communicated with Vesper, but They do not seem to have a solution.
SoonerSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 06:32   #15
Registered User
 
slacker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego and Sea of Cortez
Boat: KP 44
Posts: 186
Re: B&G radar and MFD and ethernet cable and router

To deal with the flood of packets from the radar you can create a separate vlan for the radar. Look for something like a NetGear GS308t
slacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar, route

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interfacing existing RL70C MFD with c120 MFD Malco123 Marine Electronics 2 06-02-2018 10:07
Good (braided/tinned) Ethernet cable? svlamorocha Marine Electronics 12 27-04-2015 15:34
Splicing ethernet cable Alii Marine Electronics 18 04-02-2015 19:24
Ethernet Cable zboss Marine Electronics 16 19-06-2013 17:31
Plotter or MFD recommendations - with ethernet dave777 Navigation 22 21-03-2013 21:09

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.