Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-04-2021, 18:01   #1

Autopilot Setup advice

I'm new to the cruiser world. I've spent most of my summers on jet skis and center consoles and just purchased my first larger boat. It is a 2001 Cruisers 3750 and it has essentially no electronics. I would like to figure out the cheapest decent autopilot setup including the chartplotter/autopilot/pump and anything else required. I want a setup that will navigate bases on the chartplotter, not just maintain course. I have very little knowledge on the electronics so any help is appreciated. Thank You
zacksmyname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2021, 19:00   #2

Re: Autopilot Setup advice

Have you done any shopping yet?
You might want to pare the word “cheap” out of your search criteria, marine electronics in that category are not what you’d want .
Google search is your best friend, narrow down your choices there, then post back here for input from others who use same.
I’d start with a decent head unit, and then buy compatible add-ones of same brand.
kapnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2021, 19:09   #3

Boat: Colegate 26

I'm curious what you consider to be "cheap".
LoudMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2021, 04:49   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoudMusic View Post
I'm curious what you consider to be "cheap".
Up to $5000 for the system.
Old 28-04-2021, 04:51   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapnd View Post
Have you done any shopping yet?
You might want to pare the word “cheap” out of your search criteria, marine electronics in that category are not what you’d want .
Google search is your best friend, narrow down your choices there, then post back here for input from others who use same.