Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-11-2021, 19:48   #1
Registered User
 
svfinlandia's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Currently in Solomons, Maryland on Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Nauticat NC36 36'
Posts: 518
Anyone using a DST810?

Looking at the possibility of upgrading to an Airmar Multisensor (SOW, Depth, etc.).
Anyone out there using one and if so what do you think of it?

Al, S/V Finlandia
__________________
quo fata ferunt
svfinlandia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2021, 21:20   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida, Daytona
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 203
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

I bought one, installed it and it didn't work.
The depth was all over and no speed.
Checking with Airmar, they very quickly asked me to send it back to check it out.
A week later I was sent a new one (complete)
I haven't had a chance to check it out yet.

I hope it is great, but the jury is out on that still....
Afrinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2021, 21:37   #3
Registered User
 
Windpilot's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 62
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

Installed the airmar 810 in 2019, working fine. I like that the paddle wheel center isn't wired making cleaning easier. And the flap stopping water influx is nice to have. (New to me) shows temp also.
Windpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2021, 22:07   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 9,207
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

I replaced a dst800 with flaky depth readings with a dst810 about 2 months ago. So far it has been working well. It even reads sea temperature which the 800 quit doing long ago.
The Bluetooth setup and calibration was pretty straight forward. Hopefully this model will be more reliable than the 800.
__________________
Paul
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2021, 23:13   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Boat: Farr 43`
Posts: 343
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post
I replaced a dst800 with flaky depth readings with a dst810 about 2 months ago. So far it has been working well. It even reads sea temperature which the 800 quit doing long ago.
The Bluetooth setup and calibration was pretty straight forward. Hopefully this model will be more reliable than the 800.
Same experience.

Prefer the DST810 over the DST800 it replaced.
Bluetooth gives me trim & heel on phone saving space on the Triton instruments if required.
Nine settings for speed /heel calibration pt/stb is quite granular.
Response and damping are better from a precision 9 but accuracy of the DST810 is comparable.

Reliability issues with my DST800 were caused by powering the system with the transducer removed and dry.
Rucksta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2021, 07:52   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: NC
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 370
Posts: 25
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

I installed the Garmin branded version this past spring as part of a total electronics refit. It has been working great for me with no issues. As others have said the bluetooth calibration was straightforward and I also really like the heel angle sensor built in to it.

The one calibration setting I have not completed is the water temperature. By default it is way off on mine and I havent had a thermometer on hand to check and set it accurately.
tupawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2021, 09:03   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Boat: 2019 Saona 47
Posts: 196
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

Replaced our DST800 when the temp sensor failed. The DST810 has been working well.
HighTemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2021, 11:54   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 224
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

My experience(s) with Airmar devices reflects a lifespan of just a couple/three years. Nice while they last
boatman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2021, 13:14   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 56
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

First one lasted a few weeks, replaced under warranty.

Seems like these are hit are miss. Nice when they work correctly.
kipwrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2021, 14:01   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 25
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

And what is the common denominator in this thread ??? Airmar makes **** products !!! They look great being artificially displayed @ the boat shows , but it isn't until after you spend a bunch of $$$ putting it on your boat that this **** doesn't work as promoted !!! I attribute this in LARGE part to being
"Made in China" !!! And it doesn't help that Navico / B and G doesn't provide any kind of "Field tech support" , you just have to find somebody's 3rd cousin who mighta seen one of them things before to get it to work !!!
Imagineou812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2021, 14:19   #11
Registered User
 
Oceanride007's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Up Qld Coast, near Yeppoon.
Boat: Passport 41, Custom Perry in steel.
Posts: 551
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

Its a big step up in price, I have a Cruiser don't need all that functionality, or faster information coming in. But if its a step up in quality in that it lasts longer then it could be a worth it. Temperature tends to fail first.
Rucksta mentioned turning it on when its dry. I suspected this but why would this effect temperature sensing or speed, maybe the Sonar thingy needs coolant. I'll wait but please report back here.
__________________
Oceanrider.
"The floggings will continue until morale improves"
Oceanride007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 16:44   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida, Daytona
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 203
Re: Anyone using a DST810?

Didn't know it's made in in China, but I didn't have an issue to immediately get support from Airmar, and they didn't argue that it was my fault the thing didn't work.
They replaced it immediately when they determined it was faulty.
Yes, it would have been better if it was good from the start...

For what it's worth, the two other Airmar sensors I had on this boat, and two on the previous boat was faultless for many years.
Afrinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Using an 'Ultra' Anchor? theonecalledtom Anchoring & Mooring 91 23-08-2016 06:03
Anyone Using On-Board Fuel Polisher / ALGAE-X? markpj23 Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 10 22-05-2013 15:51
Anyone Using a Parasailor-Spi Ram General Sailing Forum 15 08-04-2013 18:38
Anyone using Raytech's RNS Strygaldwir Navigation 5 06-11-2008 20:00
Anyone out there using ShipShape Maint. Log DAKunes Powered Boats 0 18-05-2006 08:27

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.