Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-12-2020, 14:04   #1
Registered User
 
Tsuru's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hood River Ore
Boat: Catalina 36 MK2
Posts: 72
AIS Installation

The goal is to install a Si-Tex MDA-5 AIS transciever into the Raymaine STng backbone visible on our E127 MFD.

The installation seems pretty basic Power, VHF, VHF Antenna, GPS Antenna ito the AIS. NEMA2000 > STNG out....

The concern is that we'll have some type of data conflict with 2 different GPS sources on the STng backbone.

To be upfront, I talked to techs at Raymarine, they mulled it over and concluded that it would be fine. Per Raymaine the MFD uses it's internal GPS for charts and such and the AIS uses its internal GPS for AIS type affairs.

The Techs at Is-Tex weren't so positive and felt that the entire system should only see one GPS input.

Has anyone else installed a Is-Tex AIS into a Raymarine system?

There is really no downside for me installing it and seeing what happens but that's not ususuall how I roll.

Thanks for looking,
Ray
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5003.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	97.0 KB
ID:	229237   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5010.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	112.0 KB
ID:	229238  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5011.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	229239   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5004.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	115.1 KB
ID:	229240  

Tsuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2020, 14:34   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: www.sweetruca.com
Boat: J Boats J/46
Posts: 48
Re: AIS Installation

Have not installed that system, but if the Si-Tex is sending a GPS signal to the N2k, could you turn off the integrated GPS in the settings of your plotter and use the other by selecting the other GPS on the network?

I believe AIS requires its own dedicated signal/antenna.

There are several GPS signals in my N2k network, all is good, select the one you want to display on the plotter of choice. Sometimes for whatever reason a device will forget its settings, just need to reset usually.

Hope that helped somewhat, if not, sorry & good luck!
SV_Sweet_Ruca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2020, 14:55   #3
Registered User
 
Tsuru's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hood River Ore
Boat: Catalina 36 MK2
Posts: 72
Re: AIS Installation

Thank you for the response and it does help. I think it's how the system should work. I can't find a way to select the GPS for the Raymarine network.
Thank you
Tsuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2020, 15:04   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: www.sweetruca.com
Boat: J Boats J/46
Posts: 48
Re: AIS Installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsuru View Post
Thank you for the response and it does help. I think it's how the system should work. I can't find a way to select the GPS for the Raymarine network.
Thank you
Im on an e7 hybridtouch, so I will give the the instructions for that.

Top right
> Setup
> System Settings
> Internal GPS (Toggle on/off)

Top Right
>Setup
>System Settings
>Data Sources
>GPS
>Select GPS Source (should auto scan your network for sources, FYI, my Raymarine AIS source does not show on my e7, it only sees the B&G and its Internal Antenna)
SV_Sweet_Ruca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2020, 16:28   #5
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14,473
Images: 3
Re: AIS Installation

Raymarine originally had lots of issues with nmea2000 ď source select ď as itís known. Sine MFDs couldnít handle it correctly anD got confused , I beleive a firmware update at a certain point fixed it

Shouldnít be a problem with later Raymarine gear
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2020, 21:52   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,416
Re: AIS Installation

there are lots of boats with 6+ gps receivers on the boat. (4 screens + ais + external gps) it will either have manual selection of one or it will use want it wants. no issue having a bunch.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2020, 04:47   #7
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14,473
Images: 3
Re: AIS Installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
there are lots of boats with 6+ gps receivers on the boat. (4 screens + ais + external gps) it will either have manual selection of one or it will use want it wants. no issue having a bunch.
There ď was ď significant issues with source selection on NMEA 2000 , certainly a few years ago , with devices jumping between the same PGNs , that were emanating from different sources. Itís largely been fixed these days
__________________
Interested in smart boat technology, networking and all things tech
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2020, 10:27   #8
Registered User
 
Tsuru's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hood River Ore
Boat: Catalina 36 MK2
Posts: 72
Re: AIS Installation

Thank you all for the thoughtful response.

Iím heading over to the boat later this morning and will try Sweet Rucas procedure. Since Iím installing an antenna on the AIS unit it seems logical to use it as the primary GPS.
I also see the benifit of being able to use different GPS inputs in case of a failure.

That said, Iím inclinded to believe Raymarine when they said it wonít matter (although Si-Tex wasnít as optimistic). It seems like the Raymarine MFD will default to itís internal GPS (which makes good logical sense). The SeaTalking network recongizes the other GPS units as part of the system. If the primary GPS fails the syetem may cycle to the secondary GPS.

I should be ready to install the system early January and Iíll update on how it goes.

Thanks again,
Ray
Tsuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2021, 19:51   #9
Registered User
 
Tsuru's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hood River Ore
Boat: Catalina 36 MK2
Posts: 72
Re: AIS Installation

The Is-Tex MDA5 transciever has been installed without problems. The GPS conflict never materialized, and with the right adapters and some boat yoga the job was almost easy.
The highlight is that I learned a lot about the Raymarine system during the installation.
Thanks for the help and support,
Ray
Tsuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2021, 05:35   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: www.sweetruca.com
Boat: J Boats J/46
Posts: 48
Re: AIS Installation

Great to hear it is a success!
SV_Sweet_Ruca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, installation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS installation hycslim Marine Electronics 3 13-12-2015 13:19
AIS The system and my installation Banshe General Sailing Forum 1 30-08-2015 10:42
Raymarine AIS installation s_v Solstice Marine Electronics 20 27-04-2015 04:17
Marinegadget Ais Receiver Installation On Mac - Help! marti85 OpenCPN 1 07-10-2012 09:32
AIS installation- Open CPN and Ubuntu Tia Bu OpenCPN 11 25-04-2011 16:49

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.