Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-07-2013, 13:29   #1

AIS Class B: Newbie

I'm new to all this, but helping some friends think about an around-the-world 1-2 year trip in a couple years. They just bought their boat.

They believe they should get AIS, which I surmise (39' sloop) would be a class B. Here's what I THINK I understand: class B is still not part of the formal USCG AIS standard, so maybe things could change, but in any case there's no reason to get SAIS (satellite link) or Class A if all they're trying to do is not get run over, and in general they might want to hold off until the last minute since equipment is still changing rapidly right now (and maybe a bit high-priced): a couple years from now might offer better equipment/better deals.

Differences of opinion? Other thoughts? Thanks! I could be totally off, school me!
keithwins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2013, 14:37   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: AIS Class B: newbie

Class-B transponders have been FCC-approved for several years now, and the prices have already dropped significantly from their initial release. The AIS standard definitely includes Class-B. Class-A has some advantages (higher power and typically faster update rates), but Class-A also cost more and burn more power than Class-B units.

There are some very nice Class-B units out there (look at Vesper and others). Garmin, Raymarine, and others also make good Class-B transponders that integrate well with their chartplotters.

I think for a "normal" sail or powerboat a Class-B transponder is a great choice. The prices are competitive and reasonable. All considered, I don't personally think that Class-A provides enough of an advantage over Class-B to warrant the extra cost, power, or integration difficulties.