Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2017, 15:39   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Catalina 42 Mk2
Posts: 9
AIS 700 software

Hi all, we recently upgraded from Catalina 34 to a very comfortable Catalina 42. The new yacht is great, very sea worthy and comfortable. But, we have one unresolved issue.
We changed the name of the boat. Not a big deal in terms of registration and signage. However...........

On board we have a SANAV AIS 700 (distributed in Australia as Oceantalk 700 AIS). In order to change the identity, within the AIS system, from previous boat name to our new name, I need a copy of the installation software. To date I have tried many avenues but have not been able to buy a copy or download a copy. The previous owner could not find his original software.

Has anyone out there encountered similar problems and/or can anyone offer any suggestions? Thanks Bshirvo.
Shirvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2017, 22:44   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,833
Re: AIS 700 software

Most ais units use proais. You can probably find that and try it. You probably won't be able to change the mmsi number though.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2017, 14:58   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Catalina 42 Mk2
Posts: 9
Re: AIS 700 software

Thanks SMAC999 - I will try it. cheers
Shirvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2021, 03:04   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Phuket, Thailand
Posts: 8
Re: AIS 700 software

Sorry Shirvo, probably too late to help you, but hopefully others can benefit from my discovery:

The following will allow you to change the MMSI number for the
older Sanav AIS-700 (from San Jose Technologies - in Australia sold by OceanTalk). SJT and OceanTalk are long out of business so best that this knowledge is not lost to time...

Sanav AIS-700 MMSI Reset

You will need to make a simple jumper cable which connects between your usual serial plug (via USB-Serial converter is fine) and the AIS unit. This is simply a 9-pin serial jumper cable thus:

PC (9-pin Female) to AIS-700 (9-pin Male)

pin 2 to pin 6
pin 3 to pin 7
pin 5 to pin 5

Now:

Start AIS-700 software
Turn ON AIS unit
Connect at 38400
All ship's data ("User Settings") should be clear
Enter MMSI, Name, callsign, type, dimensions etc
Remove jumper cable and direct connect AIS to PC as normal
Press [Set] button

Cycle Power on the AIS-700 device (leave off at least 30 seconds)
Close AIS-700 program
Restart AIS-700 program
Connect and check!

Feel free to msg me for a better cable description or wiring diagram, or for the original Sanav software. ProAIS (ver 1) usually doesn't work with this AIS device.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20211129_165618.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	286.5 KB
ID:	249035  
Capt Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2021, 15:44   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 5
Re: AIS 700 software

Thanks for this information. Just bought a boat with Oceantalk AIS 700. It has never been configured (ie used to receive only) . Do I still need the jumper, or do I connect directly with my laptop, I have the software.
Donbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2021, 16:43   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Phuket, Thailand
Posts: 8
Re: AIS 700 software

The jumper only required if you want/need to change the MMSI number.
Capt Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 20:37   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 5
Re: AIS 700 software

No luck getting my AIS to transmit. After inputting mmsi and restarting, there is no record saved. Blue TX light is not lit. Any suggestions gratefully received.
Donbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2022, 00:46   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Phuket, Thailand
Posts: 8
Re: AIS 700 software

Not sure what "no record saved" means? Data is not being retained in device, maybe?

Be sure to press Set button after entering mmsi etc, and before changing page in the software.

If your unit same as mine, then blue LED means you're in Silent mode, ie transmit disabled ... press the red silent switch.

Rx LED is green ( should blink regularly if AIS ships in range), and the Tx LED beside it is red (will only blink every couple of minutes if you're stationary ... and assuming your MMSI is entered and you have a GPS fix)
Capt Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2022, 15:09   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 5
Re: AIS 700 software

Sorry. Yes, no red Tx light. Pc seems to connect (USB to db9 cable) and I enter mmsi etc, but next time I connect, there's no mmsi recorded in the device. Pressed Set button and terminal shows activity. Will try to locate a db9 to db9 cable as it seems like the ais isn’t receiving pc data.
Donbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2022, 15:28   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Phuket, Thailand
Posts: 8
Re: AIS 700 software

Are you using proAis software or the Sanav program?

ProAis appears to work ok but doesn't save data to device. The sanav is needed for saving to work.
Capt Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 17:46   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 5
Re: AIS 700 software

No, I have the original Sanav cd
Donbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2022, 18:16   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Phuket, Thailand
Posts: 8
Re: AIS 700 software

Ok, a bit later I will post a way to set the mmsi directly using the DOS command line, without need for the software.
If that doesn't work then we must suspect the cable...
Capt Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2022, 04:07   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Phuket, Thailand
Posts: 8
Re: AIS 700 software

Donbo,

Try this method to "fix" the mmsi number in the device...

We need a DOS window... hold the Windows key down (left of space bar) and hit 'R' key, in the "Run" dialog, type "cmd" and Enter, you'll see a DOS prompt like in the following (there'll be a folder name after the C:\ prompt - just ignore that and continue, or you can type "cd\" so your DOS window looks like this example)

C:\> //DOS prompt in Cmd Window
C:\>copy con com3 //Will write text from console to COM port... obviously replace the "3" with your COM port number
$AI010,,,@@@@@@@@@*55 //Type the text then Enter, see below - the '@' replace with your 9-digit MMSI number, and the "checksum" after the * is needed, note they are number ZERO's in the descriptor, not letter "oh"s
^Z //Type Ctrl-Z (to quit the "copy" command)
1 file(s) copied. //If you don't get this "file copied" response then you have a problem with your connection, wire or driver
C:\>

(NOTE: sorry, formatting options are limited with this forum app, everything after '//' is a comment, the following is what your screen display will look like
C:\>
C:\>copy con com3
$AI010,,,@@@@@@@@@*55
^Z
1 file(s) copied.
C:\>

After the last C:\> prompt, just type "exit" and Enter to quite the DOS window.

As noted above, replaced the '@' character with your MMSI number and the "55" with the correct checksum value for your MMSI number.

The following online checksum finder may help...
https://nmeachecksum.eqth.net/
Note with this online tool, don't enter the initial '$' symbol, or the trailing '*'.
Maybe use the above example first to ensure you're getting the right answer (in this case '55'):
AI010,,,@@@@@@@@@
Capt Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 01:00   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 5
Re: AIS 700 software

All good. Finally able to transmit. Used the ms dos method, but with a friend's help managed to get the ais 700 software working. Thanks for the time you've put in to help solve the problem, as once we knew the pc was talking to the ais, we could go back and problem solve the software - my computer didnít have the right driver to communicate.
Donbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Raymarine 700+ LCD screen leehaefele Marine Electronics 0 27-11-2007 03:06
ICOM 700 tianti Marine Electronics 8 05-02-2007 19:27

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.