Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-04-2020, 00:52   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 27
Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Hello knowledgable folks,

My son and I are ardent novice sailors but totally unfamiliar with boat wiring and electronics.

We have a relatively new Beneteau with an existing battery monitor. We want to add a Victron bmv-712 monitor but still maintain the Beneteau monitor. This is for bluetooth connectivity and perhaps adding additional batteries in the future. (In fact, we are not completely sure what the exiting monitor is monitoring).

Our research seems to indicate that by wiring the two shunts in series (not parallel) this should not be a problem. There may be a slight voltage drop but not significant.

I am enclosing a picture of what we believe to be the existing monitor shunt which is located in the upper left hand corner of the picture.

So the question is: if we locate the Victron shunt in proximity to the existing shunt, can we safely wire the two together and is wiring in series correct? We would prefer not to destroy or blow up anything.

Thanks in advance for your help
Marshall
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1652.jpeg
Views:	81
Size:	108.8 KB
ID:	212704  
Handsoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2020, 01:28   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Nice, France
Boat: Hunter Marine 38
Posts: 936
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

I would look into using the same shunt for both devices. By putting them in series you are increasing the total resistance and should reconfigure both devices with the new total shunt value, but they are both only connected to half that value, Looks like an unnecessary complication.
sailormed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2020, 09:57   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,150
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Yes put them in series.
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2020, 09:58   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,150
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailormed View Post
I would look into using the same shunt for both devices. By putting them in series you are increasing the total resistance and should reconfigure both devices with the new total shunt value, but they are both only connected to half that value, Looks like an unnecessary complication.

The victron shunt is totally different.

Each monitor is seeing its own resistance. There is no need to do anything.
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2020, 18:52   #5
Registered User
 
Orion Jim's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Noank, Ct. USA
Boat: Cape Dory 31
Posts: 1,976
Images: 8
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

My buddy with a First 36.7 just added a Victron 712. He left the original monitor as is and wired the new Victron, and its shunt, separately.
Orion Jim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2020, 00:06   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 27
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Thanks Orion Jim but did you buddy wire the Victron 712 shunt in series to the original shunt leaving both monitors working?
Handsoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2020, 10:21   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Langley, WA
Boat: Nordic 44
Posts: 1,310
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Yes, they must be in series to function properly. Parallel would cause low readings on each monitor. The voltage drop across a shunt it quite small so, while there will be some inaccuracy it won't be significant.
stormalong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2020, 10:48   #8
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Petersburg, AK
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 3,178
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Series is the only way both will work, unless you can share the shunts. The BMV uses a 50mV shunt and the circuit board converts the signal right on the shunt. If your existing monitor uses a 50mV shunt (that is most common, but there are 100mV shunts also somewhat typical) and is the same current rating then you could replace the existing with the Victron, connect the old monitor to the two screws that hold the Victron circuit board, and then connect the "phone cable" to the BMV. If the old shunt has a different current rating then you would have to re-configure the old monitor, that may not be desirable/easy.

For a 50mV shunt the voltage drop across each shunt is 0.05V at full rated current. Typical boats would use somewhere from a 100A to a 500A shunt. For your typical/normal draws in the range of 10A the voltage drop from the shunt will be on the order of 0.005V or less, too low for most instruments to measure accurately. Only when you approach full current (using the windlass, for example) will you see the voltage drop creep up into the observable range, and at that point you probably have lots of bigger losses in play anyway.
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2020, 11:17   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Waldron, WA
Boat: Cape Dory 25D
Posts: 35
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Handsoff View Post
Hello knowledgable folks,

My son and I are ardent novice sailors but totally unfamiliar with boat wiring and electronics.

We have a relatively new Beneteau with an existing battery monitor. We want to add a Victron bmv-712 monitor but still maintain the Beneteau monitor. This is for bluetooth connectivity and perhaps adding additional batteries in the future. (In fact, we are not completely sure what the exiting monitor is monitoring).

Our research seems to indicate that by wiring the two shunts in series (not parallel) this should not be a problem. There may be a slight voltage drop but not significant.

I am enclosing a picture of what we believe to be the existing monitor shunt which is located in the upper left hand corner of the picture.

So the question is: if we locate the Victron shunt in proximity to the existing shunt, can we safely wire the two together and is wiring in series correct? We would prefer not to destroy or blow up anything.

Thanks in advance for your help
Marshall
I'm not familiar with those exact devices, but you really only need one shunt. Just connect the current sense leads of each monitor to the shunts, and the voltage sense leads to the same power points. I've done this with several different kinds of voltage/current monitors.


Just for safety, I would suggest putting 1/8A inline fuses (picofuse) in the sense leads. Just solder them in place and slip heat shrink tubing over the fuses. This is an example: https://www.digikey.com/product-deta...31TR-ND/700693
Richv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2020, 12:31   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Waldron, WA
Boat: Cape Dory 25D
Posts: 35
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
The victron shunt is totally different.

Each monitor is seeing its own resistance. There is no need to do anything.
"From the Victron manual:
The BMV is supplied with a 500A / 50mV shunt. For most applications,
this should be suitable; however the BMV can be configured to work with
a wide range of different shunts. Shunts of up to 9999A, and/or 75mV can
be used."

If your existing unit uses a 50mV or 75mV shunt, all you need to do is program the Victron for the shunt parameters. If your system uses a 100mV shunt (rare), just tell the Victron it's a 50mV shunt and that the full-scale current is 1/2 the actual current. E.G., if you have a 1000A/100mV shunt, tell the Victron it's a 500A/50mV shunt.
Richv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2020, 12:36   #11
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Petersburg, AK
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 3,178
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

The Victron shunt (at least IME) uses a locally mounted circuit board to translate the mV signal:



If the existing shunt has the same screw spacing then you could move the board over, otherwise as noted above, you should be able to use the Victron shunt in place of the the existing - it depends on how the other battery monitor is configured and whether you want to go to the trouble of reconfiguring.
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2020, 18:21   #12
Registered User
 
Orion Jim's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Noank, Ct. USA
Boat: Cape Dory 31
Posts: 1,976
Images: 8
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Handsoff View Post
Thanks Orion Jim but did you buddy wire the Victron 712 shunt in series to the original shunt leaving both monitors working?
Yes. Both work independently.
Orion Jim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2020, 00:35   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 27
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Thanks everyone for all your help. After reviewing all the advice and talking with Victron dealer in San Diego, we will be installing the Victron shunt in series with the existing shunt. Again, thank you all.
Handsoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2020, 06:09   #14
Registered User
 
chef2sail's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Parkville, MD
Boat: C&C 35 MKIII
Posts: 168
Images: 2
Send a message via AIM to chef2sail Send a message via Skype™ to chef2sail
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Not sure I would keep both operating. If there was an issue you wouldn’t know which device was causing the problem as easily. I would leave the old monitor shunt in place but disconnect and only use the Victron one. That way you have an installed spare you know that works

BTW we have the same Victron and like it a lot.
__________________
Dave and Donna
S/V Haleakula
Parkville, MD
chef2sail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2020, 08:32   #15
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Boat: CS27
Posts: 2,275
Re: Adding 2nd battery monitor ti an existing Beneteau monitor

Using 2 shunts is not a problem. I would use both, but the 712 is the best of the two.
mitiempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, beneteau, monitor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a 2nd battery and 50w solar system Aviationcanada Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 20 06-12-2019 16:22
Adding different brand instruments to an existing system Boat Boy Marine Electronics 7 09-02-2015 16:24
Adding Solar and Wind to Existing System Trevortune Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 26-06-2012 06:06
Insert existing waypoint into existing route? Beausoleil OpenCPN 16 17-06-2012 06:49
Adding 2nd Battery Bank captain465 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 09-07-2009 14:59

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:03.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.