Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2014, 08:50   #1
Nearly an old salt

Boat: Bavaria 36
A new improved mousetrap( boat mains power monitor idea)

Hi CFers, many of you know me here and that I am a professional EE. I've just been doing some contract work over the last 12 months on GSM monitors and I've been tricking around with launching a product for the marine marine ( well marine initially).

*Standalone, main power monitor and temperature sensor ( tells you if shore power was disconnected, cabin temp, etc)
*Optional infra-red monitor ( PIR person detector)
* battery level monitoring via cigarette lighter connection
* Small ( 1.5" square cube) , plugs in via USB wall wart/ and or 12-32v cigarette lighter socket

*Available as GSM ( works worldwide on any network, out of the box) and WiFi

* GSM needs no SIM , already included and enabled for worldwide GSM
* Internet connected via cloud, always on, alerts via , email, text, Twitter
* Web interface to configure alarm thresholds
* The version with the PIR could detect unintended entrance ( point it at the hatch, etc)

This isn't specifically a marine product, but the mod of an existing project

Pricing might be around $120-150, $4 a month monitoring charge ( for GSM version).

I can break even on small quantities. I might even KickStart It.!! Internet of things is hot at the moment .

The idea is you can take it out of a box and use it straight away, no wires, no SIM cards needed, works across country boundaries. Simple device, not really a boat alarm, setup via Web or smartphone app.