Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2014, 12:19   #1

Boat: Angus Primrose One design 45ft And Duncanson 34 Mk2
240 volt alternator

Has any body installed on there boat a 240Volt alternator to the engine to use the same as a generator?
There is a brand called Power-Tek which im looking for advice whether its as good as it sounds?
Mobile power vehicle mounted power solutions - Power with Unipower
nauticalnomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 12:32   #2

Boat: Valiant 42
Re: 240 volt alternator

I have no direct experience with this system. The web site says it's a good alternative if you are needing a welder on board. That doesn't sound like a good thing to me. The challenges of building a robust system like this are numerous and on a salt water based platform doubly so. To get significant power from a belt driven alternator takes specialized design of the belt and pulley's and even then can put enormous stress on the engine crank shaft. If a reliable propulsion engine is any priority at all I would not consider this system. Try to find a cruiser with this system on board before going further.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 12:44   #3

I have spoken to a guy who used them in a fleet of ford transit vans to enable him to use mobile sprayers for spray painting cars..
Thats all. He said that they are worth the money for the power output for the 3 phase which he was requiring..

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post