Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2020, 13:14   #1

Boat: 1984 Pearson 386, 38ft
2 in 1 Chartplotter/EPIRB--does this exist?

Just bought a sailboat--1984 Pearson 386, and looking to upgrade some electronics...and Black Friday is approaching...

Wouldnt it make sense if a chartplotter doubled as an EPIRB? Do these exist--it makes too much sense not to. Id rather not buy a new chartplotter AND an EPIRB if I dont have to. I'm a new rookie sailor...so let me know if I'm missing something here.

Advanced thanks for any recommendations!!

Cheers, Matt
mrogers23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 13:24   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Farr 40 (Racing), Contest 43 (Cruising)
Re: 2 in 1 Chartplotter/EPIRB--does this exist?

Sorry but no sense at all. You want an independent, removable, floating, rugged waterproof EPIRB that stays on the batteries for days and nights and chart plotter wouldn’t support any of that. You could save a lot by using Navionics on a phone or iPad especially for coastal sailing. For offshore you need to equip the boat and spend much more than these two units.
Old 08-10-2020, 13:39   #3

Boat: 1984 Pearson 386, 38ft

Why wouldnt you want this extra capability in a chartplotter since they both leverage GPS?

I understand some people want redundant systems. Wouldnt it be great if you had an EPIRB AND a Chartplotter that could serve as an EPIRB?

I dont see why a chartplotter couldnt be built to be removable, rugged, waterproof, and float. Maybe the bigger obstacle is making it last on battery power for days.

I'm impressed with the VHF handheld radio I bought--it's rugged, waterproof, floats, utilizes lithium batteries, DSC, and has a FM radio to boot.
mrogers23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 19:49   #4