Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-06-2011, 23:08   #1

Boat: none, I am still dreaming
Who has TIME to serious offshore cruising?

Who has time?
Well , plenty of people for sure, but are all you out there retired people and/or people who sold all and are just cruising the world and will deal with things whenever they run out of money?
I found myself lucky that I have a mortgage free apartment which I could sell, get a boat and go cruising for a couple of years as long as it is on a low budget.
I am a business owner with small children at home but I just do not see the chance there.
I am also still young, 37 years old and will still be working for a while.
Although I do not have to be at work half the time I can not see how others do this? They just quit their job and do it? With an own business it is a little different though.....................or?
"Problem" is also that I work and live in China, here boating is a new thing at least pleasure boating.
I can not go out to the sea and sail to Japan for example. The laws are just not here yet for that, also custom procedures not.
So just going out for a week is also no option for me unfortunately.
I still do not even own a boat yet but gonna start with SOMETHING now.
I ordered the plans for building a small 20 foot lobster boat (see pic) so that I can at least go out on weekends around the bay a bit.
But I am just wondering how other do this all...........................
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lobster boat 13a.jpg
Views:	451
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	28885  
chinajohnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2011, 23:23   #2

Boat: SAGA 27 AK
Re: Who has TIME to serious offshore cruising?