Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2020, 20:40   #1

What do you think of this boat?

I'm getting laid off due to the virus and subsequent economic downturn (I work in the travel industry). So I'm trying to use this opportunity to buy a sailboat and head out for a few years. I've sailed when younger and have chartered numerous times in the last few years. I was always planning a "sailing sabbatical" at some point and now the time has come, so I'm boat shopping. The plan is to do mostly coastal cruising with the occasional passage. Total all in budget about 75k and I'm willing to due plenty of work, but not looking to bring back a boat from the dead or anything. Anyway, I'm currently in SoCal and found this boat, but I can't find much on these at all. It seems to have a posh layout, so I wonder about it's sailing abilities. Any opinions would we welcome. Thanks!

Its a Lancer 45 Sloop

https://www.yachtworld.com/boats/198...sloop-3645625/
Aeronut2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 08:08   #2

Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 40
Re: What do you think of this boat?

Look nice down below however I suspect it has mainly used as a condo / accomodation. 25 hours use of the engine means its hardly left the dock. Apart from the engine looks like very little work has been done on the sailing equipment. I see alot of equipment is listed as “inop” such as the autopilot. Plus I cannot see any power generation equipment listed, dinghy, new electronics, etc. Suggest you organise a good independent surveyor (ie do not you the broker’s recommendation) and get him to inspect and list the status of all the equipment, particularly things missing. I think you will need to budget $20-$40k to get it up to sailing status.