Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2011, 02:42   #196

Boat: Wauquiez Pretorien 35
Re: US Practice of Deposit With Boat Purchase

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wotname View Post

And perhaps I am mistaken, but wasn't the OP asking about international buying?
No, not really. The question was as per the title ... what is the "US Practice of Deposit with Boat Purchase." Not what are international practices or norms.
Old 11-07-2011, 02:57   #197
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikFinn View Post
Hi,

I'm a newbie here and would need some advice. I live in Europe but have my eyes on a sailing yacht for sale in the US. I made an offer on the yacht yesterday and today the broker replied with the following:........
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doodles View Post
No, not really. The question was as per the title ... what is the "US Practice of Deposit with Boat Purchase." Not what are international practices or norms.
I guess I see it differently: OP lives in Europe and wants to make an offer on a boat for sale in the US. In Australia we call that international buying....

Maybe time to sit on the boat and turn off the computer.
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 03:22   #198

Quote:

And ...
Old 11-07-2011, 03:23   #199
Armchair Bucketeer

Quote:
I guess I see it differently: OP lives in Europe and wants to make an offer on a boat for sale in the US. In Australia we call that international buying....

You mean Europeland is not a suburb in the USA? Go figure