Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-09-2020, 09:00   #1

Boat: Cape Cod Blue Chip 30
SAILBOAT to TRAWLER

My husband and I have been sailing for 30 years. Currently we have a 30ft sloop, full keel. A heavy well built classic.
Truth be told I have never been comfortable when the boat heels. I have tried meditation, therapy, calming drugs. I still love so much of the experience and enjoy mechanical problems BUT I am now in my 70s and wondering if I will ever turn this feeling around.
We are currently thinking of moving to a 55-60 foot trawler. Will the motion of the boat be any less extreme and without that hefty keel feel anymore safe? Or any other great ideas for overcoming heeling aversion?
ashley Lieber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 09:03   #2

Boat: Chris Craft 381 Catalina
Re: SAILBOAT to TRAWLER

The motion of a trawler will depend on hull design. In general, heeling won't be an issue. And most trawlers will have a somewhat sharper motion than a sailboat. Some people find that better, some find it worse.
rslifkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 09:10   #3

Without stabilizer of paravanes trawler will roll more than sailboat in general, and faster as well.
I like both sailboats and trawler, but if you only have problems with heeling, better go cat.
If you didn't go off shore that often trawler will do just fine in terms of roll.
Wckoek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2020, 09:30   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler