Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-03-2022, 14:29   #1

Paying buddy boat to do repairs

Hi Sailors,
I've been sailing for 40+ years, on my own 1999 Amel SuperMaramu for 12 yrs. I'm 74 now and still haven't gotten thru the Panama Canal to fulfill my S Pacific dream. Divorce, work, remarried, Covid...seems it's always something, eh?
Now that I know how to fix most things, and what spares I need to carry...my back, hips, and knees complain so loudly that I'm about ready to give up on the dream. Thinking outside the box, we're trying to figure out how to make it work.
One option we've discussed is finding a capable couple who we could buddy-boat with, and pay them to do the things that require getting into those positions I can't manage any more.

First problem is finding the right people, who want to go where we do. Is this a good forum to make the offer? Where else?

Next is how to structure payment. Settle on an hourly fee? Pay a weekly or monthly stipend to have them available when needed? If so, what's reasonable? If it worked great for 4-5 years, I would even consider giving them the boat when I'm done. Bet that opened a few eyes!

Do you hold them to a yearly contract? Getting left high and dry somewhere would be a bummer.
But so would traveling with somebody who didn't want to be there.

Am I clutching at straws here, or is this doable? I don't want to give up the dream, and I'm having a bit of a hard time accepting that I'm not as independent as I once was, but finding people to help out is proving more difficult than I anticipated. Keeping up with repairs and maintenance has become a bummer for me, but I still love to sail, and cruise.

I'm sure I've missed any number of other issues. Any and all thoughts, comments, criticisms, etc are welcome.

Thanks,
Kent
karkauai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2022, 14:37   #2

Re: Paying buddy boat to do repairs