Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-08-2017, 11:39   #1

New to boating community - Santa Barbara, CA

Hi there,

I'm new to Santa Barbara and FINALLY live close enough to a harbor to get my feet wet, so to speak The ocean is my heart and my home, and I'm interested in eventually purchasing a cabin cruiser and renting out a slip in the harbor. However, I have much to learn about boating and I welcome any and all advice, tips, tricks, boating knowledge from you lovely folks! I'm happy to assist with crew. Know a good boating course I could take? Willing to help me learn to captain? I'm up for all thoughts and suggestions.

Many thanks!
Brittany
bbauhaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2017, 11:48   #2

Re: New to boating community - Santa Barbara, CA

Welcome to Santa Barbara... We live in the SF Bay Area, but took sailing classes at Santa Barbara Sailing Center. Nice people. Open everyday. Good place to start and learn about the water, weather, navigation, etc.
dwmCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 10:10   #3

Thumbs up Re: New to boating community - Santa Barbara, CA

Good idea, dwmCA! I'll look into the sailing center.
Old 28-08-2017, 10:26   #4

Boat: Lancer 44 Motor Sailer

U.S. Power Squadron or U.S.C.G. Auxiliary offer basic boating safety classes, and proof of taking some type of safety course is now becoming mandatory in California.
Diesel Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 17:37   #5

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37