Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2018, 14:28   #1

New sailor, want to cross the Pacific, guide me.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to sailing. I've been on sail boats before a few times, but always as a passenger only. Well I have decided that I want to cross the Pacific Ocean from Queensland Australia to California. It's pretty much a spiritual thing for me. Obviously, I am aware that there's a lot of stuff to know in order to survive this kind of journey. I want to know what is the steps I should take in order to build up my skills as a sailor so that I know just enough to survive if I were on my own on the trip. Which books do I need to read, in terms of equipment (boats, auto-pilot etc), sailing techniques and control, sailing routes, seasonal weather conditions, possible threats/dangers. EVERYTHING necessary, I want to learn, which books I need as well and what kinda experience I should gun for. I really don't know EXACTLY what im getting into so I want you all to give me realistic heads up.

I was thinking of first trying my hand at sailing at a local club, than maybe sailing coastally for a while, in order to get some sea miles. But also what kinda "specific" things would I need to learn, like sail routes across the Pacific, ideal stop-over locations... Thanks for the help everyone.
sailor92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 15:07   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: New sailor, want to cross the Pacific, guide me.

You have some good ideas.
  • Join a sailing club
  • Take lessons
  • Sail on Other People's Boats
  • Crew on deliveries
  • Read Jimmy Cornell's "World Cruising Routes"
  • Read "Twenty Affordable Sailboats to Take You Anywhere" by Nestor / Vigor

Australia to California is a pretty tough passage.