Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2011, 13:47   #1

Boat: Pearson 303
Friend's Boat Sinks 800 Miles Off Cape Cod

S/V Triumph Lost In Atlantic!!

I can't get through to them, but they WERE rescued. I am a NEWBIE and my friends are the reason I've been on this forum and others for a while, asking newbie questions and looking at boats to live aboard.

Anyway, my friends left last month for Europe out of Boston, and they ran into a storm, after they had engine trouble. Well, they had to be rescued and Doug fell into the water during it, and floated for THREE HOURS. Whew...

Well, I know they are friends, but they are both Coast Guard licensed captains. Doug has lived aboard for 20+ years and is an expert. As the story reported, it was their preparation that helped them live through it.

I cannot get in touch as their cellphones were lost at sea, but I'm hoping they check their emails. I will post the story here (with the actual distress call and conversation with the Boston Coast Guard and the rescue vessel). I'm sure others know them - Doug and Evelyn Sabbag. When I get in touch, I'll post more information.

Amver, Saving Lives at Sea Since 1958: Amver ship saves two sailors in dramatic Atlantic rescue
veprjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 17:48   #2

Boat: Wittholz 39' Cutter by Kanter, CSY 37 Cutter
Re: Friends Boat Sinks 800 Miles off Cape Cod

glad they are okay.
brutb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 18:02   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cooper 416 Honeysuckle