Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-02-2021, 12:29   #1

Cable heating up in cablemaster drum

Hi, I have a Glendenning Cablemaster system. As the power pedestal is close by, I am using only a short length of cable and there is still at least 30' (10m) inside the drum (maybe 20 coils) . I have noticed that the coil of cable in the drum is considerably hotter than the cable outside. The cable inside the drum is 120F (50c). The part of the cable outside is 75F (25c). The boat is drawing 30amps from 100amp service.
Is there something going on with electricity flowing in a coil of wire that would make it heat up? or is it just the usual heat building up in a confined space?
Kerryf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2021, 12:36   #2

Boat: Morgan 44 CC
Re: Cable heating up in cablemaster drum

Coils of cable energised with electricity can generate quite powerful magnetic fields. Your alternator works in much the same way. I once was (stupidly) welding using a reeled extension cable that actually melted the plastic shielding and caught fire.
CassidyNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2021, 13:14   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43 and OPBs

Yes! current flowing through a coliled cable generates heat which can't escape. There have been many fires caused by this,

It's a basic safety rule to not leave a cable/extension cord coiled while in use.
https://www.hsa.ie/eng/Safety_Alerts...le_Reel_Alert/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	coilfire.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	25.1 KB
ID:	232634  
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2021, 13:16   #4

Boat: Chris Craft 381 Catalina