Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2017, 08:17   #1

Any Cruisers in Marathon this June?

Myself, the little lady and our 9 yr old are making a trip to the keys for a week in June. We selected a canal home with close access to the city mooring field just to check things out before considering trailoring our san Juan 26 down next summer.

Bringing kayaks and a 15 ft day sailor.

The lady doesn't like crowds and is nervous about sailing anywhere outside our protected inland lake that we know so well.

Are there any cruisers in that area that would be interested in making some extra cash by taking a leisurely morning sail out towards a reef for a little snorking or perhaps you know a secret spot to see and photo some manatee?

If cash isnt your thing and you need some supplies that are cheap inland purchases but not cheap keys purchases just let me know...im an outdoor power equipment technician not a lawyer so the barter system is how i help support my sailing addiction.

We have been sailing for nearly a decade now....we would suck at racing but are well seasoned in reefing before the boat heels enough to spill your drink.

Anyway, just looking for someone to show us the area, get an idea of what ground tackle we need, dealing with tides and currents as well as charts. Stuff lake sailors dont deal with.
dohcdelsol93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 08:27   #2

Boat: Seawind 1000xl
Re: Any Cruisers in Marathon this June?

Suggest you join this facebook group for updates on BKH. Asking your questions there will get response.
tomfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 08:42   #3

BKH? I havent used facebook since i got in trouble at family xmas dinner for not poking grandma.
dohcdelsol93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 15:30   #4

Boat: Seawind 1000xl

Quote:
Originally Posted by dohcdelsol93 View Post