Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-09-2013, 04:04   #46

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by svmariane View Post
Found this ACA Subsidy Calculator | The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

Hope that calculator helps somebody.

As for me, I've been a resident of Austria since 1992 and have documents to so prove. Gonna be a bear, though, if I need to get them "officially" translated into English.
Thanks for posting the calculator, good to be able to run actual numbers versus all the misinformation out there.
belizesailor is offline   Reply
Old 30-09-2013, 04:21   #47

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by svmariane View Post
Found this ACA Subsidy Calculator | The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

Hope that calculator helps somebody.

As for me, I've been a resident of Austria since 1992 and have documents to so prove. Gonna be a bear, though, if I need to get them "officially" translated into English.
Dont know what qualifies as proof under the IRS rules being followed, but I suspect visa records will work...after all big brother already has that info...especially from another developed country like Austria.
belizesailor is offline   Reply
Old 30-09-2013, 05:49   #48

Boat: Outbound 44
Re: ACA/Obamacare for American Cruisers Abroad MERGED THREADS

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebel heart View Post
But take a very real scenario like a US sailor who's cruising full time in Mexico and then gets diagnosed with cancer or another serious illness. Chances are they'll want to be back with their family and back with, frankly, superior medical care in a lot of arenas.
Lots and lots of possible scenarios. A couple more:
1. you are in French Polynesia, get sick and cared for, then your visa expires.
2. you do a visit back to the States and get in a car crash