Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2015, 15:30   #1

Boat: O'Day 27
Should I Pay to Survey a $5k Boat?

Hello - I'm very new to sailing and am buying my first boat. It is a 1972 O'Day 27 that looks good to me, but I'm no expert. I've called a few local surveyors who want $1500+ for a survey. Is that normal? It seems extravagant for a boat that I'm only paying $5000 for - in fact, it prices me out of purchasing the boat. Help!!
Little Widgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 15:52   #2

Boat: 38 roberts ketch
Re: Should I Pay to Survey a $5k Boat?

dont like to be negative but i think you've answered your own question by the fact of asking it in the first place.
charliehows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 15:55   #3

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401

I'm odd.....I'll not pay for a survey on a boat that I don't need to finance. But I worked long enough in the industry to know what I'm looking at. If you don't know the difference between non functional and dirty the survey may be money well spent.

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 16:17   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43 and OPBs

For a $5000 boat?

Read this several times. Marine Survey 101, Do your own marine survey
Print out the checklist
Do your own survey.
Estimate how much it will cost to bring the defects to a seaworthy condition
(for $5000 - there will be defects)
Decide it it is worth the final cost to you.
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 16:27   #5

Boat: Cheoy Lee Offshore 38

There are several books out there on how to survey a boat. I would start with Inspectiong the Aging Sailboat. After that, a 5,000 boat is pot luck. There will be issues to resolve. Some you can uncover before buying and some you won't. If your budget is tight you will be doing the work yourself. That's WILL.