Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-11-2020, 20:17   #1
dmx

Insurance won't start on new boat until survey issues are fixed

I'm in the process of buying a boat in florida that has a decent sized list of items from the survey to address before insurance will cover the boat.

This poses a bit of a chicken-and-egg problem: how do I avoid having an uninsured boat between closing day and when the work is complete? It's an expensive enough boat that I don't want to be uninsured, and many yards require insurance as well.

I'm a newbie, so feel free to tell me if I'm missing something obvious. Thanks in advance for any advice.
dmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2020, 21:00   #2

Boat: Formosa 41
Re: Insurance won't start on new boat until survey issues are fixed

I have found that a letter to the insurance company outlining my plan to correct the issues was enough to get the boat insured before the issues were addressed.
Jason Flare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2020, 21:26   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser

Ask about "port insurance". Many underwriters will provide a policy restricting you to the dock until issues are resolved.
Old 25-11-2020, 21:56   #4

Location: On Vessel WINGS, wherever there's an ocean, currently in Mexico
Boat: Serendipity 43
Send a message via AIM to wingssail Send a message via Skype™ to wingssail

Check with
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockin411 View Post
His Yanmar won't start either.
Old 25-11-2020, 22:36   #5

Boat: Sabre 34II