Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2019, 11:00   #1

Do not pay 3rd party insurance repair

Hello, I am new to post to this forum, but have been reading it since forever.
Now that it has become clear I have been played by insurance company Mapfre, I want to let other cruisers to learn from my experience.

December 2018 in Gran Canarias marina Pasito Blanco I was hit by local boat during berthing maneuvers in calm weather.
Marina people helped to translate and contacted Mapfre inspector and found company to repair the damage, which is 2x10cm hole through gelcoat to fiber.

Pictures and information were exchanged between me and inspector. Local boatyard calculated a quote for the fix, which Mapfre inspector approved via email.
It was important to fix damage quickly so that voyage towards Cape Verde could take place as there is simply no infrastructure in Cape Verde to lift boat on hard. If anything need to be fixed, do it in Canaries. Waiting too long with the fix would let sea water to seep in to the fiber.

Now comes the tricky part: marina wanted me to pay the repair myself, so they do not need to await insurance company. I felt this is just reasonable as they have no role in the damage, why should they need to wait their money?