Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-02-2013, 06:41   #1

Boat: Rafiki 37
CND tax ? - Biz use of home

I am a full-time freelance writer/communications consultant/book designer. I work from my home-office, so write off a portion of our house's expenses (business use of home) against my income tax. When I move full-time onto our boat (and sell our house), I plan to carry on writing off a portion of our floating home's expenses against my income.

Is anyone else doing this? Any tips? Thoughts? Warnings?
Old 13-02-2013, 07:38   #2

Re: CND tax ? - Biz use of home

I would speak to your accountant for some expert thoughts.
jackdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 08:05   #3

Boat: Mirage 27 in Toronto; Wright 10 in Auckland

Hmmmm. I'm in the same (errr) boat... claim part of the house costs for office expenses. Hadn't thought of claiming boat costs when the time comes. I'll have to check with my crack personal accountant, but I don't see why not.

Connemara
Connemara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 09:26   #4

Yes, I'll be checking with my accountant, but surely I can't be the first self-employed Canadian to move onto a boat. Since it will be my home-office, it seems the business use of home deductions should apply.
Old 13-02-2013, 09:38   #5
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

I would make a totally unfounded and rash guess that if cdn follows the same logic as our IRS, you might be required to "separate" one area of the boat for exclusive business use, same as for a home office in any other home. If that doesn't apply up there, then you probably will be OK.