Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-06-2011, 10:26   #1

Boat: Pacific Seacraft Dana 24
Buying Mexico, bringing to California - Tax question

Greetings all,

I am buying a USCG documented vessel in Mexico and trailering up to California, where I am a resident.

So far I understand the following to be true:

There will be no sales tax in Mexico.
I need to accompany the boat across the border into the states.

Unclear on:
Does the USCG registration need to be completed at the time of sale in Mexico?
If not, and I do it in the states, does the previous owner need to be present?
Will California ding me on property taxes?
What effect would using a Colorado address for registration have on the tax liability?

I am turning around and sailing the boat back to Mexico after a few months of working on it here, but will be sailing back to the states again in about a year.

Many thanks,
Brian
standardhuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 11:37   #2

Boat: mt34dt
Re: Buying Mexico, bringing to California - Tax question

I just bought my Potter 19 in Az, brought back to CO and paid no tax, just paid for the registration sticker, CO does not title boats. Not sure if this applies to you. BTW when I got CG certification on my last boat, the previous owner did not need to be present.
zeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 19:44   #3

You will pay no sales tax (keep bus tickets, airline tickets, dinner receipts, etc.). Every year you will have to pay the California value tax. The rule is if your boat, rv or airplane is in California on the 1st of January you pay the tax for the entire year. No pro-rating. Doesn't matter if its been 1 day or 12 months, transient boat or not. It's California.
Kapena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 20:19   #4

Boat: Panda 40 - S/V Cambria