Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2017, 16:41   #1

Buying a boat in an LLC

Hi,
I'm new to CF and hoping y'all can help.
We're making an offer on a boat that's in a LLC. Is it worth buying the LLC as well? The boat is the only asset. I've done a little research online and have had a brief conversation w/an attorney. What I've learned is that we would save on sales tax but pay $800 a year to the Secretary of State (California). What are the pros and cons? Why is this done?
Thanks!!
Pebbs2200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2017, 16:52   #2

Boat: Catalina 320
Re: Buying a boat in an LLC

People I know have used an LLC when the boat was used for charters due to personal liability concerns.
Calif.Ted is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2017, 16:53   #3

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33

Wow, $800 a year...everything is more expensive in Cali.

If you do choose to buy the LLC be sure it is in good standing with the State and has no outstading judgements/liabilties...otherwise you are buying those too! And get a written contract to that effect so you have some recourse if something pops up.

You can of course easily form a brand new shiny LLC and avoid any such surprises. Then buy the boat in the name of the new LLC.

Having the boat in an LLC provides more legal protection in the event of a large liability claim...thats the primary advantage.

How do you plan to use the boat (recreational or commercial)?
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2017, 17:16   #4

We plan on recreational use. Thanks!
Old 04-05-2017, 17:22   #5

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33

Quote: