Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2017, 16:22   #31

Re: Buying a boat in an LLC

I am not a lawyer and am not in California. However, where I live, I have always been advised that it is better to buy the assets of an llc rather than the llc itself. Buying only the assets protects you from the unknown liabilities of the llc. If the same is true there, it would seem imprudent to take on that risk to save a few thousand dollars, no matter what your financial situation (even if you have no assets other than the boat, the boat is owned by the company, and would be fair game in any lawsuit).
LJsail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 16:26   #32

Boat: 10' surfboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14murs14 View Post
Because no state has a sales tax on purchase of an LLC. Most have a sales tax on the purchase of a boat. If you buy the LLC that contains the boat, the ownership of the boat hasn't changed (it's still owned by the same LLC), so no sales tax is triggered. That can be a significant sum of money saved, that's why!

Ok, so the purchase of the LLC is essentially tax free. I guess I can ensconce all of my assets within an LLC and begin sales tax free transactions with anyone. good to know.

So the best way is to create a LLC, transfer assets to it (not sure how, but I guess pretty easy there) then I can sell any property and the buyer is immune to sales tax and liability! OUTSTANDING thread! this is the greatest legal and Tax advice for free ever given.

I will point out even AL Capone had to pay his taxes, the hard way.

So now my question is drilled down to its essence: