Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-05-2012, 09:57   #1

A Dream, but That's About It!

Hey all,

So after introducing myself on the meet&greet forum, I figured I would dive right in and ask for some advice. I am a 17 year old high school junior. I sail on a large lake for a high school team, mostly 420s and Lasers. Needless to say, I have no ocean sailing experience nor do I have any experience in a larger boat. Despite these limitations, however, I came up with a wild idea over the last few months. Sometime before I graduate next June, I want to buy a sailboat somewhere on the East Coast. After graduation, I want to work on the boat while sailing down the East Coast and ultimately ending up in the Caribbean. I have already been planning on taking a year off between high school in college, so I have around 14 months to move the boat down the coast and then island hop in the Caribbean. I will obviously be living aboard all the while. When its time to come back to reality, I will sell the boat and simply come home. (Unless I fall in love- then I have a contingency plan )
This is my (large scale) plan. Call my crazy, but I love sailing and was looking for a way to explore and escape on my own before entering undergrad.

Now comes the part that is much more important- the details. I have essentially one year to procure a boat, plan my trip, and learn as much as I can about open ocean sailing. So I have a few questions for y'all: