Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-03-2020, 11:10   #1

Boat: 28' Bristol Channel Cutter - Angelsea
Review Furuno DRS4W Radar 4 iPad

I have now used the DRS4W for a cruise from the Virgin Islands to Trinidad. As a trained radar operator I can state that this radar is useless for collision avoidance which is the primary purpose of radar. It has no usable EBL that one would normally use to track an approaching vessel. There is a great little curser that can be set by tapping the screen. This can be run out to a target to note bearing and distance. But this disappears in a few seconds. If this was to stay in place one could track the bearing of the approaching vessel. If the vessel continues down the line, that is a constant bearing situation with decreasing range. COLLISION! But sadly their curser (EBL and VRM combined) doesn’t stay on.
Sadly his would be a simple software fix, but after contacting Furuno they are not interesting in making the change. Because this is an “inexpensive System”.
Also, to make the radar easier to use Furuno has dialed back the gain on rain and sea clutter. It actually does a good job of eliminating all the clutter so large land masses are see able. But a large incoming squall at 6 miles is not even visible on the screen. Neither are small sailboats with radar reflectors at 2 miles. I also did a test with Sail Rock off St Thomas. A solid 128’ high rock and the DRS4W could not pick it up at 8 miles. I also could not see the island of St Bart’s when 7.5miles out (see photo). Now if you could back off on the sea clutter a bit more you could probably see this target. Of course you would have some more screen noise, but the target would be also visible. The manual adjustment available does not go anywhere close to usable.