Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-05-2018, 08:31   #1

Boat: Columbia 10.7
Refurbish stove or replace it?

I just bought a 1978 Columbia 10.7. It has a Galley Maid Superheat stove with oven but it has no fuel lines and obviously was decommissioned.

Should I try to refurbish the stove? Or just replace it? We want to live aboard and cook during the summer and I was looking forward to having a full galley.

Part of this discussion is what type of fuel should we consider:
  • Propane is common but potentially dangerous in a boat
  • Kerosene is also easy to obtain but many complain about the odor and residue left behind.
  • I have no experience with Alcohol or diesel devices.
  • Any other fuels to consider?
Bigjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2018, 22:28   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Wheeler Shipyard 83' ex USCG
Re: Refurbish stove or replace it?

I think diesel is the best way to go in the winter in cold climates and I have a diesel stove but try to stay in cool weather. The stove is great in winter and cool summers and you can add a coil that will heat your hot water tank. But diesel stoves take about 30 minutes to warm up and the metal retains heat after shutdown. In the summer when I get caught in hot days, the stove creates too much heat so I use induction hot plates run by my inverter or generator.

Some people use electric stoves, but then you need to run a generator every time you cook away from the dock. I only use propane outside the hull in my bbq. My experience with alcohol stoves is from a long time ago and I think they are worthless. The fumes are released in the cabin. And like propane, water vapor is a byproduct.
Lepke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2018, 23:32   #3

Boat: Parker Super Seal 26