Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-01-2013, 09:10   #1

Boat: Westsail 32
My Final Thoughts Dickinson Heater

I have been using my Dickinson heater for a little over three months now and would like to update the Cruisers Forum members about my final thoughts on the equipment. There has been a significant learning curve that at the end of I have kind of settled into a love/ hate relationship with the heater. The following are my personal observations.
1. Dickinson/ or their vendors never indicated that the heater would not cleanly burn ultra low sulpher diesel, (The only type typically available in the united states) and knowing full well that they are having problems with this type of fuel continue to sell the equipment, the result of this was dirty filthy unburnt diesel all over the outside and inside of the boat, causing untold hours of cleanup as well as low heat output of the stove.