Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2017, 05:53   #1

Lensun semiflexible panels problems - not good products

Premise:
As I mentioned in other posts I am an electrician who has always worked in the civil photovoltaic field, but living in a sea area recently I have approached the electric field in boating and above all the installations of PV and wind power plants in sailboats.
That said, I miss a lot of nautical experience, less in the photovoltaic field. Initially following some forums for the first installations for my clients I used Solbian panels and Lensun panels, later I moved on to Fly Solartech.

In any case, since the first orders with Lensun I have noticed high quality deficiencies that I did not notice with solbian. In fact, two years after the installation of these products, I find that many do not work anymore and Lensun turned deaf ears no longer responding to emails:

So without any controversy I tested those Lensun products with problems and this is the result:

1. Modules with whole cells and with cut cells;

Defects on whole-cell modules are attributable to welding in the JB, while for the modules with cut cells, there appears to be problems with internal welding.

The welding between the panel coming from the panel and JB's contact is not performed correctly. As we can see in the picture below "wrong welding", welding is performed in the opposite way to good practice ("welding" image), leading to problems of "it works / does not work" diagnosed by my clients. A problem of contact stability and mechanical stress.