Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2010, 14:59   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Boat: 1977 Newport 30 MkII
Posts: 75
Anyone Use a SCAD Tank Monitor ?

SCAD Solo Tank Monitor with Gauge - 10018 Shop.Sailnet.com - sailing resources, shopping, sail, blogs

Anyone use this before?

I am considering one for my holding tank.


Thanks!
shibbershabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 06:56   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 38,365
Images: 241
Practical Sailor selected the SCAD SOLO tank monitor as a 2009 Editor’s Choice product.

Manufacturer of Innovative Marine Electronics | Technologies LLC
www . scadtech.com/
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 17:02   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Boat: 1977 Newport 30 MkII
Posts: 75
I placed my order this morning.
shibbershabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 05:14   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 38,365
Images: 241
Let us know how it works out for you, after you've had it a while.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 06:32   #5
Registered User
 
fishwife's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South coast of England, moving around a bit.
Boat: Long range motor cruiser
Posts: 750
Can anyone tell me how these external sensors work? I'd really like to be convinced. They look like the answer to the nightmare of having to clean the internal sensors in my holding tank.

P.
__________________
The message is the journey, we are sure the answer lies in the destination. But in reality, there is no station, no place to arrive at once and for all. The joy of life is the trip, and the station is a dream that constantly out distances us”. Robert Hastings, The Station
fishwife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 06:52   #6
Registered User
 
bstreep's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX/Port Aransas, TX
Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Posts: 2,479
I'll be waiting to hear about the above. I've been wanting to pull the trigger on a SCAD monitor...
__________________
Bill Streep
San Antonio/Port Aransas, TX
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 09:37   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SF Bay
Boat: Catalina C-42
Posts: 168
I've had one installed aboard for over a year. The SCAD monitors my aft holding tank. No problems and seems to be accurate & stable. The tank is an extreme wedge shape. One of the SCAD Solo programmed in tank shape "profiles" seem to match the tank's shape pretty well. I have purchased another for my forward holding tank & will install it soon.
rodney_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 11:16   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: cruising Med/Turkey
Boat: Wauquiez 43 PS
Posts: 64
We've had a SCAD Solo tank installed for a couple of years now and it is accurate. Since we have an aluminum tank, the external sensors (copper foils with pick-ups) were not an option. SCAD provides a 1" pvc tube with the sensor tape inside. You cut the tube the desired length and glue on an end cap. Works better than the bellows with float that never was accurate and cleaning was not pleasant. Get the SCAD.
__________________
Gary
S/Y Vingilot
lying Marmaris/Turkey

Life isn't a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, worn out, proclaiming, "Wow, what a ride!"
gegroves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2010, 19:29   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Boat: 1977 Newport 30 MkII
Posts: 75
I installed the monitor and calibrated it today so we'll see how it goes.
shibbershabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 17:12   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 244
Quote:
I installed the monitor and calibrated it today so we'll see how it goes.
Any update?
BambooSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2010, 21:47   #11
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Boat: 1977 Newport 30 MkII
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by BambooSailor View Post
Any update?

Yes. If you do not already have one of these... GO GET ONE!

We all love it, and it works accurately too.
shibbershabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 15:47   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 3
Re: Anyone Use a SCAD Tank Monitor ?

Does the monitor retain it's calibration when the power is removed? I would assume so, but I can't find that documented anywhere.
dblanken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 15:50   #13
Marine Service Provider
 
Scott Berg's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Aboard
Boat: Seaton 60' Ketch
Posts: 1,186
Re: Anyone Use a SCAD Tank Monitor ?

We've installed several; they seem to be fine; our favorite system is HART Tank Tender but we have no issues with SCAD
__________________
Scott Berg
WAØLSS
SV CHARDONNAY
Scott Berg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 15:52   #14
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Florida
Boat: Sabre 30-3
Posts: 5
Re: Anyone Use a SCAD Tank Monitor ?

I have one on my current boat and also on my previous boat. Works great. Very effective. Retains calibration well. I use them for my water and holding tanks. I highly recommend.
jfgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 17:17   #15
Marine Service Provider
 
Snore's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Boat: Tartan 33 and OPB
Posts: 2,844
Send a message via Skype™ to Snore
Re: Anyone Use a SCAD Tank Monitor ?

Just installed one on my boat. Super easy!
__________________
"Whenever...it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea..." Ismael -a link to my delivery website is in my profile—
Snore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a Water Tank to a Holding Tank Ray Tarr Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 3 21-02-2010 18:39
Computer monitor Bradley Marine Electronics 7 21-06-2008 17:21
Bat monitor Acadia Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 9 28-12-2007 16:55
Battery Monitor rleslie Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 31-08-2005 01:31
"SensaTank" Fiel-Effect Tank Monitor GordMay Construction, Maintenance & Refit 2 24-07-2004 00:55

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.