Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 04:59   #1

What to Pack for a 3 Month Crew Position?

Hello Community,

I've recently found myself a crew position on a 42' mono heading from Cairns, Australia over the top end to Darwin and then on to Indonesia. I'm about 7 weeks from leaving and want to make sure I'll have everything I need and nothing I don't.

What's the advice from the community on this one? It's my first time crewing on a long journey of this kind. I have my own lifejacket with harness and tether. I'm currently looking at foulies but wonder if the warm weather should affect this choice. I'm looking for advice on personal medical kit and if I need spares of anything.

I'd also like to buy the Owner / Skipper a gift for having me aboard but knowing space is precious I don't just want to get Him any old piece of junk.

I'd love to know your thoughts.

Pete.
Pete_Winning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 05:13   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: What to pack for a 3 month crew position?

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Pete.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 05:21   #3
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: What to pack for a 3 month crew position?

Hi Pete... Welcome to CF..
Enjoy the trip mate..

As to the list...
A decent waterproof jacket and light W/proof over trousers should be more than adequate...
As to med's.. see your doctor for any jabs and get his advice on what drugs/creams etc to carry for personals...
I usually just carry an assorted box of Band Aids and 100 Paracetamols...
Also check what the boat/skipper carries.. why spend if its already on board..

You can't beat a people up (for 75yrs+) and have them say..
"I Love You.. ". Murray Roman.
Yet the 'useful idiots' of the West still dance to the beat of the apartheid drums.
boatman61 is offline   Reply With Quote