Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-09-2013, 15:33   #1

Boat: Newport 19
Sailing Gloves 101

Greetings, all. I'm a newbie gearing up to learn the art and sport of sailing. The wife and I will be taking the ASA 101 class in a couple of weeks and I'm trying to get everything ready for that experience.

One thing the school recommends we have are sailing gloves. We'll be learning on a Colgate 26 in mid October on Galveston Bay. As I've browsed the interwebs concerning sailing gloves I've been overwhelmed by the seemingly endless variety offered in a wide range of prices.

Are there special considerations I should take into account before making my purchase, or should I just buy the cheapest ones I can find?

Thanks for your help!
nbuckner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2013, 16:11   #2

Boat: Sabre 34-2
Re: Sailing Gloves 101

Don't over think this. If you get thoroughly hooked, there will be many bigger decisions ahead. On a 26, you may not even need them, but I would get a pair. They are mostly to enhance grip and most important, prevent rope burns as the jib sheet goes running though your bare hands. Don't ask how I know this.
doug1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2013, 16:18   #3

Random thoughts on gloves:

- I've bought West Marine brand gloves before and was stunned at how fast they fell apart.
- For brutal jobs like handling chain, working with tools, or other nasty stuff I use full-grain leather gloves from Ace Hardware.
- The best gloves I've found, and I'd love to hear some comments otherwise, are Gill 3/4 (the most expensive ones):

GILL 3/4-Finger Pro Racer Gloves at West Marine
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2013, 16:24   #4

Boat: Island Packet 35