Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-12-2021, 05:14   #1

Boat: Morgan Out Island 8.5m
West Coast Florida to Bahamas - Help with route

Hi, I am fairly new to sailing. well I have sailed quite a bit really but always as crew, never calling the shots. But now I just bought my first boat (28 foot Morgan Out Island....she's 50 years old but with new sails and rigging and in good shape, 3.5" draught). Im in Tampa and would like to sail to Bahamas (I will not go alone, will find some crew, hopefully more experienced than me).

What is the best way to do this? I guess the two big questions are depart from the Keys or take the Okeechobee canal and depart from the Atlantic side. And then between those two options what would be the specifics? Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks!
momo034 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2021, 05:37   #2

Boat: CSY 33 Cutter
Re: West Coast Florida to Bahamas - Help with route