Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-11-2013, 20:50   #1

Question Seeking Free Weather Feed (for S.E Asia)

I would like to receive weather forecasts when out of radio range. I can use a cheap satellite modem, but am concerned about airtime costs.

I am a programmer, so can just downloaded some form of compressed data and uncompress it upon receipt.

Ideally, I would like to find a free feed in machine readable form (RSS, Atom, XML, etc, even JSON) with at least wave, wind, isobars.

I could poll that every few hours. I could also have an onshore program, at my home PC, poll more frequently and push me storm warnings, etc.

Does anyone know of any good free sources?
SALT108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2013, 16:45   #2

Re: Seeking free weather feed (for S.E Asia)

Troll?

GRIB files?

Check out saildocs, etc.. no need to reinvent the wheel.
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2013, 20:17   #3

Re: Seeking free weather feed (for S.E Asia)

No troll, honestly. I am just a dumb land-lubbing programmer, trying to help out a totally-techless yachty friend. The blind leading the blind.

Aha! A simple google for "free GRIB files" (which I would obviously have done, hand I know of their existence), leads me to many solutions and gratitude towards your good self.

Thanks a 1,000,000
Old 23-11-2013, 02:08   #4
Nearly an old salt

Boat: Bavaria 36
You need to evaluate sat modems first. They are not really " always on" types. The sat short message service is more like SMS and for a data connection you establish a connection which I beleive actually needs a full sat phone.

The short message service on say iridium is not suitable in the way you think

Dave
Old 23-11-2013, 05:28   #5

Re: Seeking Free Weather Feed (for S.E Asia)