Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2009, 10:34   #1

SeaClear II Questions . . .

OK I'm a newbie to SCII. Picked up a copy to play with on my home computer. I downloaded it to C drive. During the process a message said my computer didnt recognize the soft ware... but appeared to down load it anyway. Then a list of Chart areas appeared to click on and download. (East COast US, Carribean etc)
  • I downloaded East Coast US, but then could never get back to that screen to download others...??
  • I have an icon on my desktop, when I click on it I get a world map and can clik on that and get a chart. when I scroll on that chart and get to the edge... is there an easy way to get to the adjoining chart?
  • Is there a list of charts to peruse and just clik on the one you want? (I found a list, but it's just dumb list)
Just thought I'd ask before rummaging around trying to find things that arent there....
Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 10:39   #2

Boat: Freedom 32
Did you use Mapcal to install your charts into the Seaclear Charts directory?
Old 11-10-2009, 10:45   #3
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Westsail 32 - Pamela
It doesn't sound like you went to the normal Seaclear download page. I would remove the version of seaclear you downloaded and go to SeaClear GPS Navigation Software to download the program.

For easy downloads of the East Coast charts try this NOAA SITE and download by Coast Guard district.
Old 11-10-2009, 10:50   #4

Mapcal?
Old 11-10-2009, 10:58   #5

Cheechako,

It may be time to read the manual that came with Seaclear. Follow W32PAMELA's advice above to get the full Seaclear free. After you download NOAA charts (you want RNC charts) use Mapcal to install the charts and you will have seamless navigation.