Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-10-2022, 10:04   #286
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

LifesBetterWhenYoureBeating

The problem seems to be that sometime previously you selected the SasPlanet Map "Nokia" "Here Sat (wego.here.com)" which no longer works. But that is now stuck in the Selection manager and when you first create a chart using Sat2Chart it checks if there is a directory for that map and because there isn't it fails.

To fix it it simply start SasPlanet and select a existing map like:
- Select the "Maps" tab then select "Google" then "Satellite Google Maps"
- Then try Sat2Chart again.

I will try to fix this in the next version.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2022, 13:03   #287
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Sat2Chart.V16.0.1.0 is now available.
Only one fix: If a SasPlanet Map directory does not exist you can get this error: Error: Unsupported SasPlanet Map type:...
Now Sat2chart will create all the directories for that Map.

Download and install it from here:
https://www.gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sat2Chart_Install.exe
If the link doesn't work then Copy and Paste it into your browser.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2022, 06:36   #288
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Antwerp
Boat: Swift 33
Posts: 38
Re: Sat2Chart

Hi Paul,

Thanks for a great tool, we are now crossing the inland waters of Belgium and not every place is charted so being able to add downloaded google earth images gives a lot more confidence in navigating!

I downloaded the newest version of Sat2Chart and single charts work fine, but it keeps running into an error when trying to create tiled charts.

The program seems to keep adding paths to the save to location until it runs into error. (see screenshot DuringProcessing.jpg).

Do you have any idea why it does this and how I can fix it ?
Thanks a lot !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DuringProcessing.JPG
Views:	47
Size:	193.4 KB
ID:	266835   Click image for larger version

Name:	AfterProcessing.JPG
Views:	43
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	266836  

iGrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2022, 12:12   #289
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

iGrf,

You are at an old version of SasPlanet. Please download my version at this link:
https://www.gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sasplanet.zip

Then follow the instructions in the Help/SAsPlanet to install it which are:

After downloading unzip to a directory eg: C:\xxx then do the following:
Open a File explorer and go to the directory where you unzipped the above file and open the first directory called SasPlanet_GDAYII. There you will find another directory called SasPlanet.
Cut this SasPlanet directory and Paste it into root C: so that now you have a C:\SasPlanet.
Create a shortcut to the C:\SasPlanet\SasPlanet.exe and start SasPlanet.
Start Sat2Chart and open the SasPlanet option tab.
Change the "SasPlanet Location:" field to C:\SasPlanet

If you still have problems send me an email and attach the Sat2Chart.log. My email is in the Help

Paul
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2022, 01:48   #290
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Antwerp
Boat: Swift 33
Posts: 38
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
iGrf,

You are at an old version of SasPlanet. Please download my version at this link:
https://www.gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sasplanet.zip


If you still have problems send me an email and attach the Sat2Chart.log. My email is in the Help

Paul

Thanks for your help !



I downloaded the version you suggested but I still have the same problem. I noticed that, although you uploaded the file in your fileserver in March 22, it's still the 210805 built. Not sure if that's an issue ?


Anyway I'll send you an email with the log file !
iGrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2022, 05:06   #291
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: South Africa
Boat: Leopard 40
Posts: 730
Images: 1
Re: Sat2Chart

Hi,

What would be the highest altitude you could use to create a mbtiles chart but still have good quality when zooming in using opencpn.

Thx.
aqfishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2022, 17:54   #292
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Just for the record: iGrf's problem was because he was using a AZERTY keyboard layout. When he switched to QWERTY, Sat2Chart worked.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2022, 18:01   #293
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

aqfishing,

If you create a chart at whatever is displayed on the SasPlanet display and if you are at say Z12 then the resolution will not be good if you zoom in.

You should either use tiling or create a Polygon Path and select the higher zooms levels for the chart.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2022, 00:24   #294
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by aqfishing View Post
Hi, What would be the highest altitude you could use to create a mbtiles chart but still have good quality when zooming in using opencpn. Thx.
Fishing, I think there are some things you're not understanding. MbTiles are VERY different from KAPs or paper, & need a completely different mind-set.

MbTiles are actually a database format, & MANY different zoom levels can be in the same mbTile. OpenCPN then selects & extracts the zoom level that best matches what the user is currently using. Pretty cool!

So you really want to create mbTiles with lots of zoom levels. My final mbTiles include Z10-Z18. Z18 lets me see individual coral-heads, & often lets me see what the bottom is. Including Z10 means that OpenCPN doesn't have to work as hard deciding what to display when I'm zoomed out & panning around, so it improves performance.

Putting multiple zooms into an mbTile uses more disk-space, of course, but not much. You're probably most interested in your most zoomed-in level (Z18 for me) as that's where most of your data is. But Z17 is only 1/4 as big, & Z16 is only 6% of the size of Z18, & Z15 is only 1.5%, & so on. So your highest resolution zoom will take up more than 2/3 of your mbTile, & all of those lower-res charts combined take the rest. So they don't really take up a significant amount of disk-space, & they improve OpenCPN performance noticeably.

If you're trying to use your phone or some other lobotomized form of OpenCPN, & you're trying to minimize the size of your mbTiles, then you'll have to make some mbTiles with various (single) zoom levels & try them out to see what's satisfactory to you, since "good quality" means very different things to different people. When I'm trying to pick my way through a coral field, or even choose an anchorage at the end of a long sailing day, I want all the resolution I can get. Choose some area with lots of detail, like a marina or a coral-infested bay.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2022, 12:10   #295
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Sat2Chart

Sat2Chart.V16.0.2.0 is now available, fixes:
  • The completion tada/beep coming too early
  • Removed redundant code in error processing and added more information when program fails.
You can download it from here:
https://www.gdayii.ca/Downloads/Sat2Chart_Install.exe
If the link does not work then Copy and Paste it into your browser.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2022, 17:20   #296
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Cape Breton, NS, Canada
Boat: Cape Islander - tour boat
Posts: 65
Re: Sat2Chart

I am trying to make a decent set of charts for the Canal du Midi in Southern France. I picked Google Satellite + Navionics SonarChart + Navionics Marine Chart.


My first problem is that I ran into a Google API issue. Google Maps / Satellite stopped showing up in SAS Planet until I changed the IP using a VPN.



I have yet to get the area to fully download the required files. I am looking for Zoom levels 10-19. The rest of the directions are from here: Making mbTiles (svocelot.com)


I did just add the Google API key to the SAS program. It still does not display Google stuff.


Several times Sat2Chart error said SAS Planet was no longer in the Foreground. I hadn't moved anything.


I am using the latest version of Sat2Chart (16.0.0.2) and SASPlanet (211230.something). I have a ton of harddrive space.
ian5142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2022, 21:20   #297
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Thanks for the plug, Ian. Please let me know if you're having any issues with those instructions.

For better or worse, Paul (Sat2Chart's mother) has standardized on the version of SAS that's on his server (Sasplanet.zip). I haven't downloaded it in a while, but I think it's still 210805.10166, which is a bit older than yours. I suggest that you download Paul's version & install it, possibly next to your current SAS installation. Then use Paul's version for actually making your mbTiles. I suspect that will cure most of the issues you mention above.

You can have multiple versions & multiple installations of SAS on your computer, & I do. I have Paul's version for making mbTiles, & a newer version for actual navigation (I run SAS & OpenCPN side-by-side, with a COM-port splitter feeding my GPS to both).

The trick is to have ALL SAS installations using the same cache.

So I have a D:\SAS Planet\ folder, & under that I have
a [SAS for Nav] folder,
a [SAS for Sat2chart] folder, &
a [SAS Cache] folder.

Each installation of SAS has its cache set to the [SAS Cache] folder, so what's downloaded in the process of making mbTiles is also available to my Navigation version.
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2022, 13:52   #298
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Cape Breton, NS, Canada
Boat: Cape Islander - tour boat
Posts: 65
Re: Sat2Chart

Here is a screenshot of the Foreground error I mentioned.


When Sat2Chart is open, with side panel, required in order to load the GPX file, the SASPlanet windows sometimes overlap it. This is on a 1080P, 1920 x 1080 pixel screen.


SASPlanet version 210805.10166 Nightly
Sat2Chart version 16.0.2.0



Thanks,
Ian
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sat2Chart error.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	23.0 KB
ID:	269195  
ian5142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2022, 14:30   #299
Registered User
 
Jon Hacking's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Posts: 1,102
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking
Re: Sat2Chart

Hmm, Ian. I suspect a setup issue, as I'm sure this has been tested.

Are you sure that the SAS Planet location (on the SAS Planet tab) is correct & references Paul's version?

If it looks OK, you should probably zip your Sat2Chart.log.txt file in your SAT2CHART.V16.0.2.0 folder, & send that to Paul (email in the top of the HELP file).
__________________
-- Jon Hacking s/v Ocelot
Jon Hacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2022, 15:46   #300
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Cape Breton, NS, Canada
Boat: Cape Islander - tour boat
Posts: 65
Re: Sat2Chart

Sat2Chart, I have another small error I just noticed. The split Tickbox is missing. I will have an error log soon.


The SASPlanet location is set in SAT2Chart, C:/SASPlanet/



Thanks,
Ian
ian5142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SAT2CHART P_Dub OpenCPN 18 16-05-2024 01:52
sat2chart kap images low resolution Sailmonkey OpenCPN 3 16-10-2019 18:20
SAT2CHART can't create charts from polygons baltika_no_9 OpenCPN 7 22-04-2019 15:40

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.