Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2021, 12:45   #1

Boat: TBD
Newbie Navigation

What do I need for navigation? Paper maps, a compass, a GPS? I am not sure what to even search for in the forum as I am new to this, just sold the RV now looking for the SV. I just ordered books from the ASA for 101, 103 & 104. Doing sailing lessons but not until Sept.
Would like to know what to plan for coming up incase I need to make some kind of major purchase in the navigation department.
Will be in Florida most likely Gulf Coast and on Lake Michigan for at least one whole summer. I think we would be wise to keep it in Michigan for the first year to learn as much as possible and to be able to be on it frequently. Have thought about sailing it to Florida and back each year BUT not sure how realistic that would be. Anyway, if someone could point in a good direction that would be great. I googled some BUT there is an overload of info and do not know enough to be able to sort it out.
Fishigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2021, 14:18   #2

Location: La Ciudad de la Misión Didacus de Alcalá en Alta California, Virreinato de Nueva España
Boat: Cal 20
Re: Newbie Navigation

Welcome.

Most classes these days focus on navigation using GPS. I believe learning to navigate visually would help you better learn & use GPS navigation and understand its limitations.

If you don’t mind some boring reading I can recommend
https://www.amazon.com/Piloting-Dead.../dp/1557506833

It will give you some understanding before you go into class. This is kind of a gifted beginner’s book so if you don’t have any history of using maps to figure out where you are it may be too much.

The most recent edition appears to be the 4th from 1999 but the fundamentals don’t change so ….