Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-07-2017, 01:37   #1276
cruiser

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably in an anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 5,030
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
BTW I have made some updates to GE2KAP that allow you to use more of the SasPlanet Maps mostly the street maps like GoogleMapMaker, Bing Maps and ArcGIS.Streets.

But at the present time I am travelling without my work computer so can't create a new version. If you want it I can email it to you.
Thanks for the offer, I only use SASPlanet for Navionics so all good here, great to have it working again - In the Algarave at the moment - Portuguese charts for Opencpn aren't available yet apart from cm93 so it's great to have a recent source for the fishing and exclusion zones & where the various yellow and cardinal buoys are along the coast
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2017, 18:03   #1277
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

I seems that Google earth is no longer available from Google only Google Earth Pro V7.3 and the latest version of GE2KAP does not work with it. I am travelling without my work computer so I can't fix the problem until I return in mid August.
Please stay at the your current version.
If you have installed the new Google Earth Pro V7.3 to make GE2KAP work you must uninstall it, restart Windows (very important) then download and run the older version of Google Earth from my website:
http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/googleear...1.2.2041.1.exe
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2017, 07:56   #1278
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

I have just uploaded a new version of GE2KAP that supports the new Google Earth pro V7.30. Get it here:
http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/GE2KAP.V26.0.0.0.exe

You may have to run the Fix_GE_API which get here:
http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/Fix_GE_API.zip
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2017, 18:20   #1279
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Formerly Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 1,020
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

[QUOTE=phiggins;2463877
You may have to run the Fix_GE_API which get here:
[/QUOTE]

A word of caution. Here's the README inside the zipped download. Note that you need to create a folder to unzip the files into.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fix_GE_API
----------
This program will fix the Google earth API for versions above 7.1.2 so that it will run with GE2KAP and the OpenCPN GE plugin.

Prerequistes:
- You must have OORexx installed. If you installed GE2KAP, it will be installed already.
You can get ooRexx here: http://www.gdayii.ca/Downloads/ooRex...ows.x86_32.exe

Instructions:
1. Unzip the Fix_GE_API.zip to a directory eg: C:\FIX_GE The password is: phiggins

2. Optionally create a System Restore point in case something goes wrong. See Appendix C if you don't know how to do this.

3. I you have installed a version of GE or GE Pro higher than V7.1.2 then skip to step 6.

4. If you have any old versions of GE or GE Pro installed then uninstall them.

5. Install the latest version of GE or GE Pro. You can use either the GoogleEarthSetup.exe or GoogleEarthProSetup.exe in this directory to install
the latest version of GE or GE Pro. Use license code "gepfree" for GE Pro.

6. Terminate GE or GE Pro if it its running.

7. Open a command prompt in Administration mode. See Instructions below in Appendix A if you don't know how to do this.

8. In the command prompt window change to the directory you unzipped Fix_GE_API.zip, eg: cd C:\FIX_GE

9. Enter: FixIt (then press enter)

10. If it works successfully start GE2KAP or the OpenCPN GE Plugin. The new version of GE will start and work.

11. If you started GE2KAP press the Help button and follow the intructions in the Configuring Google Earth section.



Problems:
If you encounter problems send me all the messages in the command prompt. See Appendix B for instructions on how to do this.
My email is: phigginsca@yahoo.com

If you want to drop back to an older version of GE Pro then do this:
1. Uninstall all versions of GE or GE Pro
2. Download GE Pro V7.1.2 by clicking this link: http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/GoogleEarthProWin.exe
- When you install it, it may ask for your email address and a license code, use "gepfree" (without the quotes).
- If Google Earth starts at the end of the install, terminate it. GE2KAP will start Google Earth.

Appendix A - Starting a command prompt in administarion mode
----------
- For Windows 8 simply right click on the windows icon on the taskbar and select "Command Prompt (Admin). Respond Yes to the UAC message.

- For Windows 7:
- click on the Start button
- in the Search field enter "cmd" without the quotes and don't press enter.
- Press the Ctrl key then the Shift key above it then press the enter key.
- Respond Yes to the UAC message.

Appendix B - Sending the messages in the command prompt
----------
To select all the messages in the command prompt:
- click on the small icon in the upperleft of the command prompt window.
- select the Edit choice from the dropdown.
- click "Select All"
- press the enter key.
- Open an email and in the body right click and select Paste.
- All the Messages should now be in the message.
- Send me the email with an explanation of what happened my email is: phigginsca@yahoo.com

Appendix C - Creating a System Resrore point
- Open the System window by pressing the windows key and the Pause/Break key together.
- Click System protection on the left.
- In System Properties check the Protection Settings window and make sure your system drive (usually C has protection set on.
If not click it and press Configure and select "Turn on system protection".Then Press OK.
- In System Properties click "Create" then enter a Name for the restore point, then press Create.
- Wait for the restore point to be created.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Terry
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 14:53   #1280
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

A lot of users have difficulty running the Fix_GE_API. I accidentally discovered a trick that eliminates it. Here is how it works.

First if you installed a newer version of Google earth higher than 7.1.2 then uninstall it using the control panel. Then restart Window, this is very important..

Next install the old Google earth version 7.1.2 by downloading and it and running from my website:
http://gdayii.ca/Downloads/googleear...1.2.2041.1.exe

Next go to the Google earth site and and download and install the the latest version of Google Earth Pro V7.3.0 from here:
https://www.google.com/earth/download/gep/agree.html

Voila!Mission accomplished.

Now run GE2KAP.V26.0.0.0 and it will automatically start the new GE Pro
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2017, 04:42   #1281
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Formerly Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 1,020
Nokia maps on SAS Planet

I can no longer get any Nokia maps on SAS Planet to load.

Anyone else?

Terry
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2017, 14:51   #1282
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

yachtvalhalla,
I don't have it either and I downloaded and installed the latest Map files.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2017, 16:35   #1283
Registered User
 
yachtvalhalla's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philippines
Boat: Formerly Fuji 32 Ketch
Posts: 1,020
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
yachtvalhalla,
I don't have it either and I downloaded and installed the latest Map files.
A pity. Wonder if the SAS folks know? Remember last year when we couldn't get Navionics charts and after a month they fixed that.

Terry
yachtvalhalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2017, 11:34   #1284
Registered User
 
hasse_A's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tyrell Bay,Carriacou
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 559
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

I get a red vertical line across the imported chart made with GE2KAP. It's a bit irritating. Am I doing something wrong ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GE2KAP.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	181.8 KB
ID:	160623  
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2017, 11:43   #1285
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 79
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

There's a setting in OpenCPN that tells it to show divisions between charts. That might be what you are seeing.
abarrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2017, 12:01   #1286
Registered User
 
hasse_A's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tyrell Bay,Carriacou
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 559
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

You are right in the sense that if I unclick Display -> Show Chart Outlines the red line is not displayed. Thing is I get this vertical line on a number of imported charts. I have done quilting with 16 magnifications. You can see a tendency of 2 dark vertical lines in the charts + this red one. The red line is where you would expect another dark one but it is red instead. This must be the boarder of the pieces making up the chart.
It's not likely that there are chart borders at ever instance of chart I converted and at exactly the same relative place.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GE2KAP_2.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	230.2 KB
ID:	160625  
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2017, 12:19   #1287
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 79
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

That's one that Mr. Higgins will have to address!
abarrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2017, 12:24   #1288
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

You are seeing the chart borders. When you quilt the charts produced by Ge2kap are slightly overlapped so there is no gap between them. The other red line is another chart. Simply turn off the display outlines. There is a hot key for that, think its the O key but don't have my computer right now to check.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2017, 13:33   #1289
Registered User
 
hasse_A's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tyrell Bay,Carriacou
Boat: Allegro 33
Posts: 559
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
You are seeing the chart borders. When you quilt the charts produced by Ge2kap are slightly overlapped so there is no gap between them. The other red line is another chart.
You are right about the O. It turns the boarders on and off.

The chart procured is one single chart.
Here I have just one single chart loaded, made with GE2KAP. No other charts
that can be overlapping and I still get the red vertical line.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GE2KAP_3.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	160.3 KB
ID:	160633  
hasse_A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2017, 14:20   #1290
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Davao, Philippines
Posts: 1,776
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Can you give me a screenshot of the entire Opencpn screen including the ovals at the bottom.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bsb, google earth, paracelle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Earth ? phiggins Navigation 53 31-03-2012 20:39
Turkey Blocks Google Earth & Google Maps MarkJ Europe & Mediterranean 7 04-07-2010 12:30
Google Earth Sailing... Grasshopper Navigation 21 28-09-2009 11:02
Google Earth as an aid to navigation cat man do Navigation 9 01-05-2008 17:48

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.