Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2020, 04:59   #1

Boat: BUILT!!! Roberts Mauritius 43ft
Computer for navigation

I am nearing completion of my yacht so my attention has turned to navigation.

I'll probably use OpenCPN on a secondhand Panasonic Toughbook computer because:
  • it would be suitable for a marine environment.
  • the screen is readable in sunlight.
  • the screen is a touch screen
  • the unit can be separated so you can take the screen up into the cockpit.
The computer comes with Win 7 installed although one of the sales claims is that Win 10 (which the latest units have loaded) can be downgraded to Win 7 (Why would anyone want to do that? But I suppose that is another question)

I am completely new to navigation so any advice would be welcome.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2020-02-19 Refurbished Panasonic Toughbook CF-19 MK7 Laptop Reboot IT(1).png
Views:	491
Size:	155.3 KB
ID:	209069  
coopec43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2020, 05:28   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Re: Computer for navigation

You're on a good track. We use a Lenovo Yoga and Open CPN, with a monitor at the helm. The Lenoo was designed for school children, with a solid state hard drive and a tough case, and is available for $150 refurbished. Manufacturer designated screens/systems are badly overpriced. We've got about $300 invested in our entire primary nav system, including the generic GPS antenna.
Old 19-02-2020, 06:55   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler