Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-11-2013, 07:33   #1

Boat: 1978 Cal 39 MKII Tall Mast
Check your sextant against the stars

So I ran a few test sights with my new plastic Davis Mark 25 sextant with disappointing results. I'm new to all this, but I can say I read the instructions pretty thoroughly!

I'd just like to see if anyone has any tips. Is it the sextant? Or is it me? I hope it's me, cause then I can fix whatever I'm doing wrong

First I calibrated the sextant per the manual (1. Adjust the index mirror while sighting the reflection against the sextants graduated arc. 2. Sight the horizon and align the reflection with the actual horizon. 3. Turn the thing sideways without adjust anything, then adjust the knob closest to the frame until the horizons match again. 4. Set the sextant to 00°00.0', then adjust the knob furthest from the frame until the horizons align. 5. Rotate the sextant around a star without any misalignments. Perfect!)

I then calculated the distances between a few star-pairs (Calculating the Angular Distance Between Stars (for Focal Length Measurement) - Bob Atkins Photography) and compared them to my sights. I double-checked the calibration after the readings and it was still spot-on:
Star-Star: Calculated / Observed / Diff
Capella-Mirphak: 20°42.3' / 19°06.7' / +1°35.6'
Capella-Vega: 95°54.3' / 93°22.0' / +2°32.3'
Vega-Deneb: 23°22.8' / 22°52.9' / +0°29.9'
Caph-Vega: 59°08.9' / 54°06.2' / +5°02.7'
Caph-Deneb: 37°58.9' / 33°40.0' / +4°18.9'