Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2018, 19:45   #1

Boat: Swarbrick 40
Chart Updates? What do you get?

This may seem like an odd question but I am A Surveyor and have only done a small amount of Hydrographic Surveying in my career. But the little I did was very complex and specialized, requiring specialized equipment ect.
So this brings me back to my question. Just how much surveying and plan updating is going on to require frequent updates?
I am based in Sydney and am pretty shore that substrate in local and surrounding waters is not changing and I am almost certain that quick response Navionics Survey teams are not waiting on next to hot lines everywhere, ready to spring into action and resurvey the world annually.
Yeah shore. There are some channels being dredged and built in some places? Is that what you get in your updates? Or is it some extra features built into the charts.
So! What do you get when you update your charts?
Old 07-10-2018, 20:40   #2

Re: Chart Updates? What do you get?

I can't speak to what happens down under, but in the USA most changes are to the various Aids to Navigation as they get moved, changed, removed, and updated.

Dredging and shoaling are also updated, but usually only in improved channels.

Permanent (and temporary) changes to charted information are all summarized in the Local Notice to Mariners (LNTM) published by the USCG weekly in regional editions. They used to be an important part of running a vessel, but most people seem to not even know they exist any more. An unfortunate side effect of "video game" sailing.