Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-01-2019, 09:22   #1

Boat: Perry 47 cc ketch
Celestial navigation book?

Hello! Does anyone have a recommendation for a good celestial navigation book? Something that is a good "self teaching" guide for a total beginner? Thanks a bunch!
FrankF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 10:02   #2

Boat: Sabre 402
Re: Celestial navigation book?

Lots out there. Last I heard, the U.S. Navy still uses Bowditch's Practical Navigator. It goes into a lot more than just celestial. A professor/sailor at my college went by Mixter's Primer of Navigation, which goes into intricate detail, and includes problems to work out for practice. Mary Blewitt's Celestial Navigation for Yachtsmen is perhaps simpler and more user-friendly.
psk125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 18:12   #3

Boat: Perry 47 cc ketch

Quote:
Originally Posted by psk125 View Post
Lots out there. Last I heard, the U.S. Navy still uses Bowditch's Practical Navigator. It goes into a lot more than just celestial. A professor/sailor at my college went by Mixter's Primer of Navigation, which goes into intricate detail, and includes problems to work out for practice. Mary Blewitt's Celestial Navigation for Yachtsmen is perhaps simpler and more user-friendly.
Thanks for this info! I just got the 2017 Practical Navigator as a pdf file for free from this website: https://msi.nga.mil/NGAPortal/MSI.po...2&pubCode=0002

Looks like some heavy reading, but two things I have a surplus of is time and ambition. Thanks for the recommendation!
FrankF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2019, 18:21   #4

Boat: 55' Romsdal

This one: https://www.amazon.com/Miranav-workb...8037251&sr=8-1
Old 21-01-2019, 04:47   #5

Boat: Beneteau First 42